Lemon Ginger Noodle with Shrimp and Mushrooms

I used to collect thick, gigantic cookbooks until I realized that a) I was may be using two recipes out each book and more importantly b) I was running out of shelf space.   I went for large books because they included many pictures that I found helpful.  I also thought the more recipes a book contained, the more use I would get out it.  Since I am a visual person, the pictures were helpful, but not to the extent where I tried more recipes.

Instead, over the past two years, I have started getting rid of my cookbooks and relying more heavily on the Internet.  So, now I have a binder full of recipes from food blogs like Simply Recipes, Steamy Kitchen and Smitten Kitchen.  The shelf is somehow still full, but at least my “cookbook” is lighter.  And these bloggers take beautiful pictures that are inspiring as well as being helpful.  Some even have step by step photos!

Well, I can’t say my picture is beautiful or inspiring or helpful, but at least you can see the result of what I made!  I almost forgot to take a picture so I’m just glad that I have something to post.

Lemon Ginger Noodle

Print

Lemon Ginger Noodles with Shrimp and Mushrooms

*Adapted from Simply Recipes from a recipe posted by Jaden Hair from Steamy Kitchen

Time: 15 mins prep, 20 mins cooking

Serves: 4 – 6

Ingredients

Lemon Ginger Dressing

1/2 tsp paprika (original calls for more and hotter cayenne or Asian chili powder but it would have been too hot for the 5 year old)
Grated zest of 1 lemon
1 tbs freshly squeezed lemon juice
1 inch section of ginger, peeled and grated
1/4 cup rice vinegar
1/3 cup soy sauce
1 tbs honey (could substitute with brown sugar)
1 tbs toasted sesame oil
3 tbs olive oil

The Noodles

1 lb dried noodles (spaghetti, linguine, udon, soba)
1 lb fresh mushrooms (enoki, shimeji, sliced button, sliced shitake)
1 tbs butter
1 tbs minced fresh cilantro (parsley, green onion, or basil could be used but cilantro went really well)
1 tbs sesame seeds
1 lb shrimp, peeled and deveined

Directions

Make the dressing by combining all ingredients, except for the sesame oil and olive oil in a food processor or hand blender. Run the blender for a few seconds, until all ingredients are combined. With the machine running, drizzle in the oils..

Marinated the shrimp with some of the dressing, just enough to coat the shrimps
In a pot, cook the dried noodles according to the package instructions. Drain and set aside.

Heat a frying pan over high heat. Lay the shrimps in single layer and cook until pink on both sides. Set aside.

Add the butter and when the butter starts bubbling, add the mushrooms. Saute the mushrooms for 2 minutes.
In a large bowl, toss the cooked noodles with the shrimps, the mushrooms, fresh herbs, sesame seeds and some of the dressing (to taste.)

For Vegan version, substitute honey with brown sugar and butter with olive oil and of course leave out the shrimp. The original recipes does not contain any protein. I think you could add browned tofu.

Leave a Reply

