How Does Pollock Taste?

I didn’t have a recipe for the pollock so, I winged it. Not that a good recipe would have made a difference. Better planning would have made the difference.

I brushed the fish lightly with some olive oil, sprinkled some salt and pepper and squeezed some lime juice. Then I coated the first with some bread crumbs to bake.  Very basic, safe way to cook fish. I took some photos so I could post here.

Then I realized that I didn’t really know what I was making for starch. Rice? Pasta? I was running late as usual and got distracted with my starch.

This is the result.

Oops

Oops.

It tasted fine aside from the burnt part. But, obviously it doesn’t make for a good photo unless I’m depicting a FAIL.

I’m not going to bother writing this up as a recipe. Let’s just say I will be working on a better pollock recipe to present in the near future.

I am happy to note that pollock tastes good. I’m always scared that a wild caught fish will taste too fishy. In fact, I was surprised at how closely it resembled cod in texture and flavor. Mild, not too fishy with nice big flakes. I don’t remember ever eating pollock before, but I must have. Apparently it is commonly used in frozen fish sticks which I used to love until I found out how unhealthy they were. Next time, I may try the fish taco recipe or make a healthier version of a fish stick.

Meanwhile, if you haven’t given pollock a try, go for it!  Don’t let this picture discourage you.  I had it under the broiler just a little too long.

Leave a Reply

