Pan Seared Tuna Steak in Asian Marinade

A couple of years ago, I was really tired of cooking all the time.  I actually started hating it.  Meal planning, cooking, cleaning, the whole process.  I still have moments when I get tired, but I just realized I don’t hate it anymore.

The biggest difference is that I have allowed myself to have an off week once in a while.  A little more take-outs and prepared dinners.  Sounds so simple, but at the time it was quite a difficult concept for me.  I can be a little bit of a perfectionist.

I’ve also turned cooking into a hobby, a way for me to be creative through exploring new recipes, then photographing the results and blogging it.  It is sometimes stressful (because you know… perfectionist), but it is mostly fun.  Plus,  it has gotten me out of my cooking comfort zone.

Even two years ago… heck even a year ago, I would never have tried making marshmallows.  The unfamiliar ingredients like gelatin and having to use a candy thermometer would have intimidated me.  Well, making marshmallows turned out to be easy.  With each new challenge overcome, my confidence in trying other new things have grown.

So, finally we get to tuna, the real subject of this post.  I know my three or four fish and tuna unless canned isn’t one of them.  Tuna is cooked like a steak and well, steaks scare me.  Yeah, I get scared easily, OK?  I’m afraid of over-cooking, but I don’t like to eat things rare.

As I mentioned, tuna price at H-Mart was so good, better than salmon, I had to give it a try.  I looked through a ton of recipes and finally decided on this Asian Marinade recipe from Allrecipes.com.

Some reviewers recommended 2 hours of marination, but I only had one hour.  The tuna steak still came out juicy.  I think the key was watching my time to avoid over-cooking. The original recipe says 5 -6 minutes grilling on each side. I don’t have a grill pan.  I pan seared the steaks for 4 minutes on each side. It was perfect. Just a hint of pink, but not over done.

D thought the tuna was “fantastic”, but I thought it could use a tad bit more salt.  I don’t know if full 2 hours of marination would have made a difference.  I may sprinkle some salt next time if I don’t have 2 hours to marinate.

Or I’ll just come up with my own marinade.  Now that I have some experience, I’m ready to experiment!

If you like tuna and have never made it because you’re a timid cook like me, go for it!  If I can cook, you can cook.  Just make sure to get really fresh tuna.

IMG_5068

Pan Seared Tuna Steak in Asian Marinade

Print

Active Prep Time:  10 mins     Inactive Prep Time:  2 hours     Cook Time:  8 mins

Serves: 4

Ingredients

1 clove garlic, minced
2 tablespoon chopped fresh parsley
1/4 teaspoon dry oregano or 1/2 teaspoon chopped fresh oregano
1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper
1 tablespoon lemon juice
2 tablespoons olive oil, plus more for cooking
1/4 cup orange juice
1/4 cup soy sauce
2 tablespoons olive oil
4 (4 ounce) tuna steaks, about 3/4 inch thick

Directions

In a medium shallow baking dish (glass or non-reactive), mix together all the ingredients minus the tuna. Place the tuna in the marinade and turn to coat. Cover and refrigerate for an hour. Flip the tuna and refrigerate for another hour. Remove tuna from marinade and set aside on a plate.

In large pan heat about 1 tablespoon olive oil on medium high.  Lay each steak and cook for 4 minutes.  Flip and cook the other side for 4 minutes or to desired doneness.  Let it sit for couple of minutes before serving.

We ate it with steamed brown rice and stir-fried bok choy.

3 thoughts on “Pan Seared Tuna Steak in Asian Marinade

    • Yes… one just opened closer to me and I’m so happy! The fish at the new store is even more amazing than the one I used to go to.

  1. Yum! This sounds fantastic–I’ve only attempted tuna steaks once, and I definitely overcooked them. Time for ‘take 2′ to happen.
    I totally know what you mean about allowing yourself easier cooking weeks. That’s what keeps me going in the kitchen, too–I enjoy the work of it more if I know I can go easy on myself when I’m feeling overwhelmed.

Leave a Reply

