Buchimgae, the Amazingly Savory Korean Vegetable Pancakes

I had written a recipe for pa jun a couple of years ago, but I had never added photos.  When I made some last week, I took some photos to add to the original recipe.

Since then I did some research on the internet.  I’ve grown up calling these thin savory pancakes buchimgae.  But pa jun or pa jeon seemed to be the more popular name hence the title of my old recipe. Turns out that pa jun is pancake made mostly with scallions. Duh. That makes sense since pa translates into scallion.

What I make, what I grew up eating my whole life indeed goes by buchimgae. I have no idea what it literally translates to…mixed vegetables?

Well, color me pink… does it excuse me that I grew up most of my life here in the US?

I’m re-writing the formerly known as pa jun recipe here to avoid any confusion in my head. Maybe one day I’ll actually make pa jun and I can write that up.

IMG_5104

The basic ingredients I use. The whole squash in the back, that’s what I mean by gray squash. I don’t see them in the regular supermarkets, but most Asian ones should have them. But a regular zucchini works as well.

IMG_5110

This is chopped kimchi (Korean fermented cabbage), about 1/4 cup. It isn’t necessary. Even I don’t usually have kimchi in my fridge. But if you do, it adds an amazing savoriness to the pancakes.

IMG_5254

All the sliced vegetables in the bowl.

IMG_5114

The batter should be thin, almost runny unlike American pancake batter.

IMG_5119

The lighting around my stove is just horrible! Fry to golden crispness on each side. You can be fancy and flip the pancakes or just use a spatula. I usually start off making smaller pancakes, but towards the end I get tired of standing over a stove and make some large pan sized ones.

IMG_5125

My love for buchimgae is of long standing.  My brother and I used to wait patiently by the   stove while my mom made them.  They would barely hit the plate before we would greedily devour the hot pancakes, burning finger tips, tongues and all.  That’s how good they were.

Thankfully the Husband and the Kid love these, too.  Hm, why am I thankful… it just means less for me!  Unfortunately they love them, too.  Gosh darn it.  That’s why I have to make a double batch and stand by the stove for so long!

Anyway, if you haven’t tried buchimgae, go try some.  You won’t regret it.

By the way, the traditional recipe uses white flour.  My mom has always added a little potato flour.  It helps to make the pancake lighter and crisper. If you don’t have potato flour, corn starch works.

Printer Friendly

Buchimgae (Korean Vegetable Pancakes)

Prep Time:  15 mins     Cook Time:  30 – 40 mins

Ingredients

 2 cups all purpose flour
1/4 cup potato or rice flour
2 cups cold water
1 large egg beaten
1 tbsp vegetable oil
3 stalks scallion sliced diagonally in 2 inch pieces
1 carrot julienned
1 small sweet onion (Vidalia) or 1/2 medium onion sliced
1 small squash (preferably gray squash) julienned or cut into matchsticks
1/4 cup chopped cabbage kimchi, optional
1 tsp salt

Dipping Sauce

3 tbsp soy sauce
2 tsp rice vinegar
1 tbsp sesame seeds, toasted
1/4 tsp sesame oil
1/4 tsp dried hot red pepper flakes (can leave out

Directions

Combine in a large bowl the all purpose flour, potato flour, egg, oil, salt and water. Mix until the batter is smooth. Stir in the vegetables. The batter should be a little runnier than American pancake batter. If not, add a little more water.

Heat a frying or saute pan on medium heat and coat with vegetable oil. Ladle some batter and spread into thin circle. You can make it as large as the pan or make smaller pancakes. Cook until the bottom is brown and crisp, flip and cook the other side the same. Repeat with remaining batter.

Drain the finished pancakes on paper towels. Cut large pancakes into triangles and serve with dipping sauce.

2 thoughts on “Buchimgae, the Amazingly Savory Korean Vegetable Pancakes

Leave a Reply

