Fish Tacos

*I made the fish tacos and wrote it up weeks ago, before we left for Korea in fact and I never got around to uploading the photo until now.

Up until two years ago, I never knew you could make tacos with fish.  Well, you can and you really should.  Why?  No good reason except that it is yummy and easy and just a new way to eat fish or taco for that matter.

Most fish tacos recipe calls for shredded cabbage, but I never have cabbage on hand and just use shredded lettuce.  This time, I tried to be authentic and bought cabbage.

Here’s the problem with cabbage.  First and most importantly, I didn’t love the cabbage topping with the fish taco.  Neither did D or S.  I’m not sure why it is the topping for fish tacos and not lettuce.  Secondly, now I have almost a whole head of cabbage in my fridge that I don’t know what to do with, that will probably rot and be thrown away.

Almost makes me want to buy a rabbit just so I can feed cabbage to him.  Almost makes me want to start a compost that Soso’s been trying convince me of ever since a school assembly about recycling and reducing waste.  Almost, but not quite.

But I just got a brilliant idea.  I’ll throw the cabbage out the backyard and surely the numerous rabbits and the family of groundhogs will eat it.  Right?

So, all this to say, I’ll stick with shredded lettuce next time.

fish taco

Print

Pan-fried Fish Taco

Prep time:  15 mins     Cook time:  10 mins

Serves: 4 – 6

Ingredients

Fish Taco Spice Mix
1/4 teaspoon cumin, divided
1/4 teaspoon paprika or chili powder
1/4 teaspoon coriander powder, optional
1/8 teaspoon turmeric powder, optional
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon black pepper

Pico de Gallo
3 Roma tomatoes, diced
1/2 jalapeno pepper, seeded and minced
1/4 cup diced sweet onion
1/2 cup loosely packed cilantro, chopped
1 lime, juiced
salt and pepper to taste

Sour cream sauce
1/2 cup sour cream
1/4 teaspoon cumin powder
1/2 cup loosely packed cilantro, chopped

2 cups shredded romaine lettuce
1.5 – 2 pounds cod or tilapia or any firm white fish, cut into 2 – 3 smaller pieces
1 lime
olive oil
8 – 10 hard taco shells or soft tortillas

Directions

First, some prep work. In a small bowl, mix 1/4 teaspoon cumin and rest of the spices.  In a medium bowl, mix tomato, jalapeno pepper, onion, half the cilantro with juice from 1 lime. Salt and pepper to taste.  In a small bowl, mix sour cream, cilantro and cumin.

Prepare tacos or tortillas per instruction. I usually throw the hard shells into a toaster oven and the tortillas into a microwave for about 20 – 30 seconds.

Rinse fish in cold water and pat try. Squeeze juice of the second lime all over the fish. Season fish lightly with spice mix. Set a large fry pan on medium heat and add oil. Add fish to pan and cook on both side until fish is flaky and white. Break up fish into large chunks.

Finally, to assemble the taco, put the shredded lettuce, pico de gallo, sour cream, fish, and taco shell/tortillas on the table. Let everyone add some fish, top with sour cream, lettuce, and pico de gallo to their taste and enjoy!

Some other optional toppings can include fresh cilantro, shredded cabbage I mentioned, and avocado slices.

3 thoughts on “Fish Tacos

    • Chapati is like roti? I can never remember the different breads except for naan. We’re just not a big fan of cabbage in general and a whole head of cabbage is a lot of cabbage. Do you eat it much? How would you cook it Indian style?

  1. Think I like the chocolate diet better, but has to be dark, frozen and preferably when the kids are in bed!
    I am not a big fan of cabbage either, but recently I was introduced to savoy cabbage and enjoy it. I steam it just to soften
    a bit, must be firm. Then saute it with olive oil and garlic, it is quite good and good for you I am told.

Leave a Reply

