So sad

Yesterday, my friend and co-worker of three months got laid off. I am so sad, for her and for me and I miss her already.

We were both new and still trying to figure out our respective roles in a department that clearly had divisions. As we balanced our jobs and the group dynamics, we bonded. We connected over coffee and quick holiday shopping trips to the local mall. We would talk about fashion, sports, our kids, dancing, being in our 30’s, our sex lives, our relationships with our husbands, and our hopes and dreams still for the future. We talked like we were friends for many years.

I have learned over the years that it is hard to make friends and that friendships can be incredibly fleeting. I have not been able to make a single lasting real life friendship since college. We are talking almost 11 years. The friends I have made have been through my jobs and for the most part, they have not lasted once the job context had been removed.

So, as I write this, I’m wondering how long this connection will last. Will we meet up for drinks or go for dinner? Will the clubbing event ever take place? Will we continue to chit chat via email? I guess only time will tell.

In case I’m coming off as completely self-absorbed and heartless, I do realize that these are small worries amongst some potentially big ones. I am dwelling on these only after I’ve been assured that my friend’s doing OK. While being laid off isn’t ideal, she thinks that this may have been the best option for her. She wanted to go back to her field and she feels that this will push her towards that goal. She has also thought about going back to school. I wish her the best in whatever she decides to do.

4 thoughts on “So sad

  1. Make it happen. Call her up and schedule the drinks/clubbing/shopping date.

    BTW, I am slightly jealous that I can’t go have drinks with you. But you do live far away. 😦

  2. (((hugs))) you don’t sound seflish or self-absorbed. These are valid concerns you have about the potential loss of a friend. I am glad to hear she’s doing OK, I hope it does work out the best for her. Now, I’m just worried about you. I hope you two remain friends.

  3. I’m glad there is potentioal for this being a good outcome for your co-worker.
    It is hard to make lasting friendships as an adult. So much of your time is at work and your energy is split between child and spouse. There is not much left. It seems natural that close friendships are in the office.

Leave a Reply

