Speak Mommy!

I have gotten into a bad habit of answering DD’s numerous questions with an “uh-huh”… “Is that a snake Mommy?” “Uh-huh.” “Is that the color blue?” “Uh huh.” “Is the house on fire?” “Uh huh.” OK, I’m kidding about the last one, but you get the picture.

It is a habit developed out having to multi-task and not being able to focus solely on my daughter. The “uh huh” is a way to appease her, make her feel like I’m paying attention while I’m trying to get dinner ready, clean up after dinner, or complete some other household chore.

Well, DD is smart. She’s no longer fooled by an “uh huh”. Now when I try to pull that trick, she says, “Speak Mommy!” She is not satisfied until I use the actual words “yes” or “no”. She’s even learned to grab my face with both her hands and say, “Pay attention Mommy. I’m speaking to you.”

I counted up the hours I get to interact with DD during the work week. I’m being generous when I say I get to physically be with her about 4 hours every day, 20 hours a week. Out of those 20 hours, I think I’m again being generous in saying about 4 hours are spent focusing on DD alone. That isn’t even an hour a day.

I guess I should be grateful that she goes to bed at 8:30. Wow, I didn’t realize how little time I spent with her last year when her bed time was 7:30!

I guess I should count myself lucky that I don’t have a longer commute or longer working hours. DH is already sad at the thought that starting next week, his precious time will be cut in half. Tennis season is starting, which means that he could be coming home as late as 7:30. Well, at least he has the summers.

Meanwhile, I think I need to remind myself what’s important and why I had a baby in the first place. In the big scheme of things, it really doesn’t matter that the dinner is a few minutes late or that the laundry isn’t folded right away. DD isn’t going to remember that. Well, may be she will associate her childhood with slightly messy house, lol. But hopefully she’ll also remember and just know in her heart that she always came first.

2 thoughts on “Speak Mommy!

  1. I’m ROFLMAO about the hands on the face deal. I KWYM about the lack of time we spend with them, but think of the weekends…You are correct. It doesn’t matter that dinner is late or the laundry isn’t folded. A slightly messy house is more realistic than an always clean house!

  2. Oh, you made me cry. I wasn’t expecting to cry, and there it was. You’re spot on… what she’ll remember is an, ahem, comfortable house (that’s what I like to call it), and that she always came first. (((hugs)))

Leave a Reply

