Freedom of speech

We were at a local craft store getting supply for DD’s party next week. There were two registers at the checkout line, one on the right and one of the left. For whatever reason, people were lined up in a single line, on the right side. When the left register openned up, we moved to get checked out.

These three adults that were together jumped ahead of everyone else and got behind us. Their argument being that there were two lines and everyone else was waiting on the right side. I guess the customer that had been behind us originally made some kind of a comment. I didn’t hear it. What I did hear was one of the woman who had cut the line mutter, “One of these days, I’m going to kill all white people.” Then I guess other customers made comments. Next thing I hear are the other two cutters shouting and cursing.

DH felt bad about the customer who was getting abused and went to her defense. So, now these people were cursing and yelling at DH. In front of DD. When someone else made a comment about toning down the language in front of children, one of the cutter invoked freedom of speech and how she pays her taxes like everyone else.

I’m glad that we have freedom of speech. Coming from a country where freedom of speech wasn’t always upheld, I appreciate this right more than some others. I’m not sure how I feel about this right that people have risked so much to attain being invoked to defend the right to loudly and publicly curse in front of children.

If nothing else, one would think common decency would have stopped them from getting out of control. But then again, one of them had wanted to kill all white people based upon this incident, so what am I thinking?

4 thoughts on “Freedom of speech

  1. Some people need a lesson in the Constitution. Freedom of Speech only means that the GOVERNMENT cannot punish you, it doesn’t mean that there is not consequences from others for your actions. Nor does it mean you can offend others/children. If that was the case, there would be no television censors or movie ratings.

    I’m so sorry you had to put up with that. I’ve recently had to explain to R that people say bad words because they are not intelligent enough to come up with something better.

  2. wow. I guess people who want to kill all white people (or black people, or yellow, orange, purple, blue, whatever people) can’t really be expected to know much about common decency. I am so sorry you were in the wrong place at the wrong time…

  3. What an horrible situation to have to witness, especially with mm there. I have much more I can say on this issue, but I would get all riled up and mad. So, instead I will sit here and sadly shake my head.

Leave a Reply

