Water, water everywhere…

I think it has now been raining for more than 24 hours. There is water everywhere. We live on a street with bad drainage and the street tilts towards our side of the house…. so guess what’s flooded? Our front yard. The water started coming up in our basement in the afternoon yesterday. Fortunately, it has only been at one spot, relatively close to the drain.

Unfortunately, there is a leak coming from our roof and we didn’t realize that water was seeping through the ceiling and soaking up DD’s clothes in her closet until about 8PM. By then, half her clothes were wet and the ceiling and the wall will need to be re-plastered.

There is also a mysterious leak in our chimney. I don’t know where it is coming from, but there is water at the base of our fireplace.

A lot of schools in our area have closed. I guess you could call this a “rain day”? It sounded a bit silly to me, to close a school for a little rain? I didn’t realize until I started driving to work that a lot of streets are completely flooded and that trees are down. It took me about 10 minutes to just get out of my neighborhood because all the usual routes were either blocked off or flooded. On one street I saw a small bus stranded with water reaching past the tires.

I heard on the radio that train lines are down and major roadways are closed.

It is still raining. There is rain predicted for tomorrow. *sigh*

3 thoughts on “Water, water everywhere…

Leave a Reply

