DH and grocery shopping

It is good to be able to laugh at something these days and as usual, DH has provided the fodder.

DH was given the task of going grocery shopping for this week.  I made a detailed shopping list, provided the appropriate coupons, circled the sales items on the flier and hoped for the best.  Within 30 minutes, I got about 6 or 7 phone calls.  What did women do before cell phones?  Do all the grocery shopping themselves? Send DHs out anyway, knowing that there will be some returns/exchanges involved?

To be absolutely fair to DH, he did have to get some complicated items like “feminine pads” and “tissues”.  I think if the list had contained only food items, I may have only received one phone call.  He still gets green squash and cucumbers confused, but he would have been able to handle items like coldcut, bread, milk, eggs – you know the essentials.

I will cut to the chase and describe the phone call that had me rolling on the floor laughing.  It probably won’t read as funny as it sounded:

DH:  OK, I found the pads that are orange, but I’m not sure if they are the right ones.

Me:  Does it say ultra thin? Does it talk about length?  Or there is usually a picture showing the length.

DH:  Well, I see on the bottom, people in three different sizes and the tallest one is filled out.

Me:  People?  Are you sure you have the right brand? (Me thinking in my head… hm, may be they changed the packaging where they are using people’s height to represent length b/c taller people need longer pads???)

DH:  Oh they are not people… they represent pads with wing…. (DUH)

I actually snorted out loud.

Now, what worries me is that it seemed to make sense to me that “tall person” = “long length” in femine pads.

2 thoughts on “DH and grocery shopping

Leave a Reply

