Where do they pick up these phrases?

This morning’s conversation with Soso:

S: Mommy, you broke my heart.

Me:  I broke your heart???  (Totally in shock)

S:  Yes, Mommy you broke my heart.

Me:  How did I break your heart honey?

S:  You had other shoes in your hands.

OK, that last statement needs a translation.  She had picked out my shoes this morning and I was wearing them.  BUT, I put the pair I really wanted to wear in the car and I guess she realized the ramification… and apparently broke her heart.

I didn’t know whether to laugh or cry!

4 thoughts on “Where do they pick up these phrases?

Leave a Reply

