Baking tragedy

I foolishly decided to make the cupcakes myself.  I didn’t realize at the time that it was a foolish decision and ulitmately a futile effort.  I didn’t realize at the time that the cupcake gods were against me.  If only I could have sensed the impending disaster, I would not have had my garbage littered with cupcake carcasses.  The batter of cupcake is on my hands and I don’t know if it will ever wash off.  I still have nightmares.

It all started when I realized at 7:30 at night that I had yet to make the cupcakes for Soso’s Halloween Party.  It was a little late to start because I still hadn’t finished cleaning up after dinner, Soso needed a bath and DH was not home to help me.  Never the less, I started forthwith on baking.  I even made it an activity for Soso and I to share.

I gathered all the ingredients together, 3 eggs, 2/3 cups of water,  1/2 stick of butter.  Simple enough since this was a boxed cake effort.  We mixed everything up, poured into 24 little mini-cupcake liners and popped the tray into the oven.  15-20 minutes later, I checked the oven and realized that something was off.  The cupcake looked a little flat.  I took one out and tasted.  It was hard to peel off the liner and the cake itself felt a little too spongy, but it didn’t taste too bad.  I even had Soso do a taste check.  She said “Good” and I continued on with cooling and icing.

Still, I knew something wasn’t quite right.  When DH came home, I had him do a taste check.  He said it tasted OK, but perhaps I should make another batch since the cupcake crumbled when he tried to peel it off the liner.  It was now 9 PM.  I really didn’t want to spend another hour baking, but I swallowed a sigh and started it all over again. 

I took out another box and I realized where I erred the first time.  I read 1/2 cup of butter as 1/2 stick of butter.  I remembered thinking it was odd, but that’s what my tired, hurried eyes had read!  So, this time, I used the whole stick, 3 eggs, and 2/3 cups of water.  As soon as I started mixing the batter, I again felt that something was off.  The batter seemed too watery.  I looked at the measuring cup, it said 2/3!  I continued on filling 24 more mini-cupcake liners and pouring the rest of the batter into a cake pan.  15-20 minutes later, the cupcakes had not risen.  I checked the measuring cup again.  I had mistaken 1 and 2/3 for just 2/3.  Of course I had to throw the entire batch out.

I cannot believe that boxed cake defeated me.  I cannot believe I messed up 2 boxed cake effort!!!  Mind, you I had just made pumpkin bread from scratch!  I blame fatigue.  I blame my hurried life.  I blame the cupcake gods.  Whom am I kidding, ultimately I blame myself.

Luckily for me, I was only dealing with 3 year old palates and their penchant for icing and sprinkles.  So, I made sure that the first batch of cupcakes minus the 1/2 stick of butter had plenty of icing, sprinkles and mini M&Ms.

Happy Halloween!

4 thoughts on “Baking tragedy

  1. My girl never eats the cake anyway! At her school, there are so many allergy problems that we aren’t allowed to use some of the mixes – I’ll have to go completely from scratch – ack!

Leave a Reply

