A whole new year and a whole new world

I had a taste when Soso had her first play-date a month ago with a school friend.  It was reaffirmed when she had a second play-date a week ago at a local movie theater.  2008 has introduced a whole new world to me.  A world that revolves around Soso’s social life.  It is only the 3rd day in the new year and I already have 5 or 6 events waiting to be organized, confirmed and booked for the next three month.

I will admit that I planted the seed, nurtured and cultivated it.  I actively encouraged her friendships and made the first move in contacting her friends’ moms.  I did not realize the full ramification of what I sowed.  At this rate, Soso will have more of a social life that I have had in the past 10 years!

I feel tired just thinking about all the events, not including her 4th birthday activities.  When I add the birthday I activities, I want to just crawl into bed.  When I add plans for DH and my social life I want to crawl in and stay there.  What was I thinking???  Oh right, this was all part of an effort to get her to socialize more, to open up more and be more comfortable in social settings.  Right this is a good thing.

I just have to keep picturing her, interacting with her friend last week, talking and giggling and just having the time of her life.  She was who she is with us and that’s such a joy to see when for the most part, she’s such a reserved little soul.

So, here I go, reaping what I sowed.

2 thoughts on “A whole new year and a whole new world

  1. I agree with CK, it’s a great thing! But I understand how you feel – – it’s a lot to keep up with. (((hugs))) enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

