“A Dream Is A Wish Your Heart Makes”

A dream is a wish your heart makes,
When you’re fast asleep,
In dreams you lose your heartaches,
Whatever you wish for, you keep.

Have faith in your dreams and someday,
Your rainbow will come smiling through,
No matter how your heart is grieving,
If you keep on believing,
The dream that you wish will come true.

This is one of the songs Soso and her classmates sang for the 2008 Winter Holiday concert.  One day, she started singing the song out of the blue, in the cutest voice that only other 4.5 year olds all over the world can have and took me completely by surprise.

I love my daughter always, as I love my husband, my parents, and my brother.  That is a fact and that will never change.  However, I have experienced with my daughter (and I’m sure other parents can relate) moments when I completely and utterly fall in love with her.  This was one of those moments.

Falling in love is different from loving.  Loving is steady.  It stays the course and it endures.  It is the core that gives relationships strength.  Falling in love?  That’s when for a moment your heart swells, gets off the steady course and takes flight!  It is the extra burst of energy that can renew your love and make your love grow.

I love these moments.  When I think back on them, my eyes still tear a bit.  I could never have  in full consciousness wished for something this good and perfect.  Indeed, Soso must have been a wish my heart made when I was fast asleep.

One thought on ““A Dream Is A Wish Your Heart Makes”

Leave a Reply

