Off the pedestal

Or perhaps I was never on it?  Whatever the case, the veil has dropped.  The innocence is lost.  The fat lady has sung!  OK, perhaps not the right analogy.

I always thought it would happen when she no longer believed in Santa Clause.  Or the Easter Bunny.  Or the  Fairy Godmother.  Or the Zower in the shower.  Some magical creature for sure.

Nope.

Tonight, Soso casually observes, “Mommy’s not perfect.”  Wow.  And apparently that knowledge does not faze her at all.  I certainly hope she takes other “disappointments” just as well.

Apparently this revelation came about because she heard me exclaim, “Oh, my God!”  And as we have taught her, she recognized that it was a bad thing to say.  I should have said gosh or goodness.

Oh, boy am I in trouble when she learns one day all the other bad words I use while driving!  She will think I’m positively heathen.

I guess it is time for me to start practicing what I preach, gosh darn it!

Leave a Reply

