Menu for Second Week of Lent

This year DH is giving up deli meat for lunches as part of the overall meat abstinence we are practicing for Lent.  This poses an additional challenge for me.  It is SO MUCH easier to slap some deli meat on a roll every day! 

Since he is not all that into “salads” as in tuna salad, egg salad, seafood salad, etc., it will have to be cheese sandwiches a couple of days and some left-overs the rest of the week.  This will mean more cooking for me as I already take all the available left-overs for my own lunches.  More cooking for me because conveniently for DH, this is the beginning of his busy, “coming home late” season.  Oh woe is me.

As much as I do enjoy cooking, it is tiring to do it every day, every week, every month, every year for the rest-of-my-life.  I try to keep it to no more than five times a week, preferably four in order to maintain some fresh perspective.

On the plus side, this week is my SIL’s turn to cook so Monday is taken care of… except that there is a blizzard starting tonight until tomorrow morning.  14 inches of snow!  There is a good chance that we will not make it there for dinner.  So, I have come up with 5 dinner meals, ladened with beans and a couple of quickies.

1.  Easy Black Beans and Rice with fresh salsa and salad

2.  Tuna Macaroni Salad on a bed of lettuce with crusty bread

3.  Chickpea Potato Curry with basmati rice

4.  Bean Burritos with Yellow Rice and fresh salsa

5.  Veggie burgers (I like Morningstar) with Sweet Potato Fries and salad

6.  Sesame Ginger Noodle with Fried Tofu

I have already made the Tuna Macaroni Salad for tonight’s dinner.  It was, “Yummy!” according to DH and Soso said, “I Love it!  The green thing is yummy!”

Leave a Reply

