Italian Potato Salad

My mother-in-law used to make this really yummy potato salad, made with Paul Newman’s awesome Parmesan and Roasted Garlic Dressing and fresh parsley.  It was light, unlike a traditional mayo-based salad and incredibly tasty.  I can’t find the dressing anymore at our local grocery stores and I have had to concoct my own.  Turns out that making your own dressing is quite simple, more tasty and cheaper to boot.  While I would still love to find Newman’s Parmesan dressing, I have completely lost the taste for all other bottled dressing.

Recently, I’ve started experimenting with the salad by adding other ingredients.  This past Memorial Day, I made added some chopped marinated artichoke and black olives to decent result.  I think I’ll skip the chopped carrots next time and kick it up a notch with some more garlic.  May be roasted garlic?

And here is a picture!!!  I know the picture isn’t all that great, but I am so proud of the fact that I a) remembered to take one and b) actually uploaded it in time to add to the post!  Woo hoo, go me, go me… ah hem, no I was NOT doing a cabbage!

Picture 009

Print

Italian Potato Salad

Time: 20 min prep, 25 – 30 min cooking

Serves: 4-6

Ingredients:

Dressing

1/2 c Extra-virgin olive oil
3 tbs red wine vinegar
1 heaping tbs Dijon mustard
salt and pepper to taste

Whisk all the ingredients together in a small bowl and set aside.

6 – 8 Russet or Idaho unpeeled potatoes, scrubbed clean
2 stalk of celery, diced
1 carrot, diced
1 shallot or equivalent amount of Vidalia onion, minced finely
1 jar of marinated artichoke, chopped
1/3 cup of black olives, sliced half
1 handful of fresh parsley, chopped
salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

Boil the potatoes in salted water until tender.  Drain and set aside until cool to touch.
Peel the skin and cut into small bite size pieces.  Add  the potatoes along with the rest of the ingredients in a large bowl.  Add the dressing (whisk again if the oil has floated to the top) and toss gently.  Salt and pepper to taste.  You can serve immediately or after chilling.  It tastes good both ways.

Leave a Reply

