Chickpea and Tomato Salad

We have been busy the last few weeks getting ready for a neighborhood gathering at our house.  It is the reason why I now know that being a landscaper is not a career option.  Our yard needed a lot of work, still does, and we felt that we should at least pull up the weeds and get some of the “rabbit” holes filled up.  Yes, that alone was a three weekends of work effort!

Then the Husband thought it would be a great idea to have some kind of lawn game.  You know in case the adults got bored just talking.  *shrug*  After much thought he settled on bocce.  It wasn’t enough to just roll the balls on plain grass.  No, he HAD to build a bocce court, lined with stones and all.  He spent the better part of the weekend getting this court ready.  The weekend of the gathering.  Where may be I could have used some help with food preparation.  Good thing the party was on LATE Sunday afternoon!

So, while he was outside setting up his game, I shopped, chopped, sauteed, cooked, baked, cleaned, washed…  basically everything else that is required of getting ready for a party.

I should mention that this was to be a pizza tasting party, with polls and everything.  But since I’m genetically pre-disposed to providing too much food, I had to make a tray of ziti, a tray of meatballs, a tray of crudité, a bowl of salad, fresh salsa, a cake, fruit salad AND the titled chickpea and tomato salad.  Do I even have to mention that I’ve been eating ziti for either dinner or lunch for the last 3 days?  Mind you, this is after having giving a meal worth of food to SIL and putting a meal worth in the freezer.

I had to make it difficult for myself and make my own sauce.  But, at least I didn’t have to make 100 meatballs all by myself.  I really like Costco’s brand frozen meatballs.  Throw in some homemade sauce or heck even  Ragú, they come out great!

IMG_2901

Anyway, I decided to make a last minute addition to the menu because I was afraid that I didn’t have enough food.  Hm, what would be easy, light and go pizza and pasta?  Chickpea and tomato salad, from Simply Recipes.

I looked at the ingredients and wondered about hard boiled eggs, but it came out great!  It says to make it fresh and serve immediately, but I was able to eat the left-over the next day for lunch with some nice crusty bread.

I made some modification, such as replacing tomatoes with grape tomatoes cut in half.  I used grape because the regular tomatoes recently have been mushy and tasteless.  I also used a container of grape tomatoes and not 2 lbs equivalent.  I found the the dressing to be too much and reserved some to use for a salad another day.

Print

Chickpea and Tomato Salad
*Adapted from Simply Recipes

Time: 15 mins
Serves : 6-8

Ingredients

2 15-ounce cans of chickpeas, drained and rinsed
1 container of grape tomatoes, halved
4 large hard-boiled eggs, peeled and chopped
2 cups of chopped sweet onion (Vidalia)
2/3 cup extra-virgin olive oil
6 Tbsp of white wine vinegar or sherry vinegar
1 teaspoon salt
ground pepper
handful of chopped parsley for garnish

Direction

Combine the garbanzo beans, tomatoes, eggs, and onion in a large bowl.
Separately mix the dressing ingredients in a jar or a small bowl – olive oil, vinegar, salt, and pepper.
Pour over salad ingredients. Sprinkle on chopped parsley. Serve immediately.

*You can chill the undressed salad up to six hours, until ready to serve.

Leave a Reply

