A complete mother hen!

Yes, that’s what I am.  I’m a little chagrined to realize how much of a one I’m turning out to be.  Granted, I always knew I would be a little over protective.  But considering how much freedom I had growing up, I had hopes of allowing my daughter the same.  Not so.

Soso has been doing two days of camp that involve field trips.  Once I realized how far they were venturing out, I knew I would only be comfortable with Soso going when one of us was a chaperon.

Well, today was supposed to be a movie day.  We only found out last night that the the camp was to a museum.  A museum that involvesdriving on a couple of highways that I’m not too crazy about!  I’m ALWAYS hearing about an accident on Route 78!  Plus there’s a thunder storm coming.

So, I sat in my office at 9AM with increasing anxiety level and butterflies in my tummy and decided to keep Soso back.  I just knew that I wouldn’t be able to focus on anything let alone work if I let her go.

Poor Soso.  I do feel sorry for her.  Thankfully at 5, she gets over disappointments quickly.  I just hope that my mother hen tendency abates a little as she gets older.   Other wise, I may have a child who will bolt from the nest at the first opportunity!

Leave a Reply

