Good bye summer, hello fall

While it is technically still summer, like for most parents summer was over for us after Labor Day.  No more pool, beach, fun times, relaxation and hello cool weather, raking endless amount of leaves and a crazy hectic schedule.

This fall will be especially hectic due to the fact that the really, truly, not-a-baby-anymore, Big Girl is starting Kindergarten.  Tomorrow.  And as of Tuesday my twice a year tennis widowhood started.  This year, DH is coming home even later and I’m getting just a taste what single parenting must feel like.  Let’s just say, I thank God that I’m not.  I wouldn’t survive!

I know that I have to really get organized.  So, the weekly menus will be starting again.  Not that I haven’t cooked all summer but it has been a lazy sort of cooking and I’ve been relying heavily on the grill.

In that endeavor, here is a new recipe!  I’ve been wanting to try it all summer but like I said, I’ve been very lazy.  Cantaloupe salsa just screams summer doesn’t it?  Luckily, I actually had all the ingredients I needed because all I could remember at the grocery store was the main ingredient, the cantaloupe.  I got a gorgeous one.  Luscious, fleshy, with melt in your mouth sweetness.

I served broiled salmon with teriyaki glaze and rice with it.  Yes, I made a menu around the salsa.  I was a little  nervous that Soso wouldn’t like it but she loved it.  It rated 100 versus a mere 10 for the salmon and a 9 for the rice.  I won’t mention what she rated the cucs… I just threw it on the plate at the last minute because 1) I didn’t have any vegetable (yeah, I know cucs are technically a fruit) and 2) I had a section on her plate empty.

I really have to give kudos to Deb from Smitten Kitchen.  She gets me to try what I would have termed as weird salsas/salads and it has really opened my eyes.  I would never have thought to combine a sweet fruit with lime, basil and salt!.   But it works so enjoy!

IMG_3722

IMG_3725

 

Cantaloupe Salsa

*Adapted from Smitten Kitchen

Time:  15 mins

Serves: 4

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups of diced cantaloupe (about 1/4 – 1/3 of a cantaloupe)
  • 1/4 cup of diced sweet onion (Vidalia or red)
  • 2 tbsp chopped basil or cilantro (I used basil)
  • 1 hot red or green chile, minced (I skipped this due to the little one)
  • 2 tbsp lime juice
  • 1/4 tsp salt or to taste

Mix well and serve immediately

2 thoughts on “Good bye summer, hello fall

  1. Is it? And she ate a kiwi afterwards b/c apparently cantaloupe salsa didn’t count as fruit. I think she’s going through a growth spurt or something!

Leave a Reply

