Turkey burger

Last week was kind of crazy and I have decided that I need to go back to prepping for the week on Sundays.  I was so good yesterday!  I made chicken marsala for tonight and I made turkey burger patties for Wednesday.

Turkey burger with roasted asparagus and sweet potatoes

 

Turkey burgers are my absolute favorite now, but that wasn’t always the case.  I use to eat the already made patties and ate them on sufferance.  As in, “yeah this taste kind of like cardboard but I guess it is healthier” sufferance.  I don’t know why it took me so long to make my own patties when I’ve been making my own beef patties forever.

It is one of those inexplicable things that happens to me once in awhile.  My inner blondness?  My aversion to touching poultry?  There was a time early on in my marriage when I stopped cooking chicken for that same reason (aversion, not blondness!).  Suffice to say, I eventually got over my distaste while discovering disposable gloves!

I have to thank a friend for my love of turkey burgers.  She brought one to work one day and it was fabulous.  It was melt-in-your-mouth soft and juicy and mouth-watering yummy.  It was the first time I said to myself, “Who needs beef burgers?”  She made a concoction out of ground turkey, spices, herbs, worchestshire and turned it into to-die-for burger patties.  While I have never been able to replicate it, I’ve come close.

The basic ingredients are ground turkey, bread crumbs, egg, worchestshire, salt and pepper.  The rest is made up of part inspiration and part what ever is in your pantry.  Onion, garlic, scallion, parsley, cilantro, basil, sun-dried tomatoes, cumin, bell peppers, you name it.

After I made the patties, I put them between wax paper to freeze.  I took them out again on Tuesday night in preparation for broiling for Wednesday dinner.

IMG_3771

Basic Turkey Burger

Time: 15 mins prep, 20 min cooking

Serves: 2 – 4, makes 4 large or 5 medium patties

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb ground turkey
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup breadcrumbs
  • 1/4 cup onion (sweet, vidalia, red)
  • 1 clove garlic minced fine (optional)
  • 1/3 cup chopped herbs of your choice (scallion, parsley, cilantro, basil)
  • 1 tbs worchestshire
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp pepper

Directions:

  • Throw everything in a mixing bowl and mix and squish and squash and squish some more
  • Form 4 -5 patties
  • Grill or broil (2nd to highest rack) about 20 minutes
Leave a Reply

