Things I should never do again

Remember when I went a little pumpkin crazy and bought FOUR pumpkins?  I carved the large one and I had wanted to carve two smaller ones to flank the large one.  Well, it turns out that smaller pumpkins are harder to carve.  Much harder.  So much harder that my nifty carving tools broke.  Or may be the tools were just flimsy.  Now I had two small pumpkins that I needed to do something with.

So, let me list a couple of things I should never do again:

1.  I should never buy so many pumpkins.

2.  I should never buy so many small pumpkins.

After slaving in the kitchen for five hours today, here is the third thing I should never do again:

3.  I should never, ever make homemade pumpkin soup with real pumpkins.

IMG_4024
After about an hour of work

Oh man, it was so hard!  Not the cooking part, the cutting and gutting of the pumpkins in preparation for the soup.  It took hours.  Seriously.  TWO HOUR!  When you wake up early on Sunday to be all efficient and then you spend the next two hours just prepping the gosh darn pumpkins, you kind of lose steam.  9 AM on Sunday morning and I was already done.  Beyond done.  But I trudged on.

Then I tried to toast the seeds to garnish the soup.  The recipe said 10 – 20  it minutes and I swear the seeds were burnt in 10.  Ironic because that’s how I felt.  Burnt!

4.  I should never toast pumpkin seeds.

Now, Soso loved it.  She had it for lunch.  D tasted a spoonful so I could gauge whether it was good enough to give to a friend.  Baker Mom, if you didn’t like it, you can blame D!  So, I’m back to being happy some good came out of it, except that Soso loved the soup so much that she’s already requested it for next year. Hence why this is titled, “Things I SHOULD never do again” versus “Things I WILL never do again”.

This recipe is from one of my favorite site, Simply Recipes.  I adapted the Simply recipe which was adapted from a recipe on Oprah Magazine.  I tend to shy away from heavy cream due to all the fat.  I think the soup still came out good.  Sorry, no picture… I totally forgot about it!

 

Pumpkin Soup

Time: 2 hours prep b/c I obviously suck… I can’t imagine it takes others this long else it would never be done!, 2 hours cooking between roasting, cooking, blending

Serves: 6 – 8

Ingredients:

  • 4 tbsp unsalted butter
  • 2 medium yellow onions, chopped
  • 2 tsp minced garlic
  • 1/8 tsp crushed red pepper
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 tsp ground coriander
  • a dash each of clover, nutmeg and cinnamon
  • pinch ground cayenne pepper (optional)
  • pinch of salt or to taste
  • 3 (15 oz) cans 100 percent pumpkin or 6 cups of chopped roasted pumpkin*
  • 5 cups of chicken broth (or vegetable broth for vegetarian option)
  • 2 cups of milk
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar loosely packed**
  • 1/2 cup light cream

Directions:

  • Melt butter in a large pot over medium-high heat. Add onions and garlic and sauté  until softened.  Add spices and stir for a minute more.
  • Add pumpkin and 5 cups of chicken broth and blend well. Bring to a boil, reduce heat and let it simmer for 10 to 15 minutes.
  • Blend the soup in batches in a food process until smooth or use a hand blender.  Return soup to pot on low heat.
  • Add brown sugar and mix. Slowly add milk (use less if you like thicker soup) while stirring to incorporate. Add cream.  Add more cream if the soup is too spicy.

Serve in individual bowls with toasted pumpkin seeds, if you know how to toast without burning them.  I served with toasted sourdough bread.

*To make pumpkin purée, cut a sugar pumpkin in half, scoop out the seeds and stringy stuff, lie face down on a tin-foil lined baking pan. Bake at 350°F until soft, about 45 min to an hour. Cool, scoop out the flesh. Freeze whatever you don’t use for future use.  Remember, it sounds easy but cleaning out the stringy stuff take quite a bit of time, but hopefully not as long as it took me!

**We finally ate it for dinner tonight and after eating a whole bowl, I would cut the brown sugar to 1/3 cup and add more to taste if needed.

3 thoughts on “Things I should never do again

  1. It was DELICIOUS!!! I served it for dinner tonight and we enjoyed it. Didn’t realize the extreme effort, but knew dealing with pumpkins is not easy. I served it with some of those chicken & apple sausages from Whole Foods and a simple salad. Yum!! Of course Boy C, who was shocked, Shocked I tell you, to learn I didn’t use an actual pumpkin to make his pumpkin muffins, could only state “See – Soso’s mom doesn’t get pumpkin from a can”…..

  2. Lol! I’ll have to tell him that I usually do get my pumpkin from a can. I have enough pumpkin left over to try a pie, or bread or dare I say another go at the soup? We thought the 1/2 cup of sugar just a tad too much – thoughts? And did C try some soup? I didn’t think he would eat it and gave you only enough for 2. I’m glad you enjoyed it! 🙂

  3. I enjoyed the sweetness, but maybe because I also had the sausage and salad with it. Perhaps it seemed a bit too much after the whole bowl so give it a try. I think its definitely worth making again (though pumpkin pie – Yum!!) When I try (with canned pumpkin), I’d probably add a pinch more cayenne pepper, but we enjoy that kick with the creaminess. And no, C didn’t give it a try – almost, but no deal. His loss 🙂

Leave a Reply

