Lemon Chicken Scaloppine

First some exciting news.  We’re going to Peru!  I’m so excited about it that I have to shout it again.  WE’RE GOING TO PERU!!!!

Lima!  Cuzco!  Machu Picchu!  Llamas!  The Andes!  The Amazon!  Incas!

So, in order to kickstart planning for this momentous trip, we invited D’s cousins for dinner.  Cousins who go to Peru every year, who speak the language and would, hopefully come with us.  Or allow us to tag along on their trip.

In honor of this dinner, I made Ree’s (PW) Chicken Piccata.  The first “new” recipe I’ve tried in at least four months.  I’m calling in Lemon Chicken because the recipe doesn’t contain capers and the sauce is very lemony.  But delish!  Ooh, I feel so Rachel Ray!

Of course, I was running late.  I just really suck at timing food and guest arrival.  So, no pictures.  May be I can stage one with the left overs… or you can just check out Ree’s picture.  Just picture my chicken less golden.  How does she get that color?  And the pasta more like a clump instead of the nice mound.  But it was really good.  So much so that D’s cousin asked for the recipe.  And Soso asked for more chicken.  “Not pasta?  Just more chicken?”  I queried because she rarely eats seconds in meat.

I also made kick*** broccoli rabe.  Oh the cooking  deity was blessing me last night.  Everything came out just right in spite of my rushing.

Anyway, the conversation went well.  We’ll be meeting them in Lima and travelling with them to Cuzco to see Machu Picchu and to Marca (family’s hometown) for their annual festival of San Lorenzo, a big 5 day affair of food, drinks and dancing.  We’ll see D’s Abuela who is 104 or 105 years old.  We’ll be covering a lot of land on plane, bus, train and on foot as well.  Hopefully Soso can keep up or she will still be light enough for us to carry here and there.  We’re so excited and I’ll update as we have more information.

Back to the recipe.  I used 2 packages of chicken scaloppine pieces from Purdue instead of pounding my own. SO MUCH EASIER!  I doubled some of the liquids so I would have enough sauce.  I used regular table salt because I tend to over-salt when using Kosher.  I served with linguine fini (thin linguine) because I prefer it over Angel Hair.  And of course the kick*** rabe and a salad with Dijon dressing.

Lemon Chicken

Time: 15 mins prep, 30 mins cooking

Serves: 6 – 8

Ingredients:

  • 6 – 8 pieces of chicken scaloppine
  • salt and pepper
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 3 lemons
  • 5 tbs butter
  • 3 tbs vegetable or regular olive oil
  • 1 1/2 cup chicken stock
  • 1 cup dry white wine
  • 1 cup of heavy cream
  • 1 1/2 lbs of cooked Linguine Fini al dente
  • handful of chopped parsley divided in half

Directions:

Soso wanted to help, but I didn’t particularly want her touching the raw chicken.  So, I had her prep the lemons for juicing by squeezing them.  And pounding them.  And rolling them.  Hey, it kept her happy and boy were the lemons juicy!  Then she helped ground the fresh pepper over the cutlets.

  • Cut the lemons in halves, remove the seeds (or you can juice over a strainer),  juice them and set aside.
  • Pour the flour into a shallow dish
  • Season the scaloppine with salt and pepper and dredge both sides with flour. 
  • Add the oil and 2 tablespoon of butter to a large skillet on medium heat.  When the oil starts bubbling slightly, add the chicken.  Add as many pieces as the pan can fit without crowding.  Let the chicken fry until both sides are golden brown, about 3 minutes on each side.  When done, drain on paper towel, cover and set aside.  Add more oil/butter as needed for frying the remaining chicken pieces.
  • Lower the heat medium-low and add the broth, wine and lemon juice.  Let it boil until reduced about half.  Reduce the heat to low, add the cream and whisk slowly for a few minutes.  Add salt and pepper if needed.  When the sauce has thickened a bit,  sprinkle half the chopped parsley.
  • Place a small or medium mound of pasta on a plate, a piece of chicken and spoon the sauce on both.  It is really lemony and a little does go a long way.  Sprinkle more fresh chopped parsley for garnish.  Enjoy!
One thought on “Lemon Chicken Scaloppine

Leave a Reply

