Trinidadian Chicken Curry

Two posts in one day!  There was no way I could put this with the bedroom post and come up with a proper title.

I read this recipe from my current favorite food blogger, Pioneer Woman.  I hesitated at first due to the main ingredient being chicken legs.  I don’t cook much with bone-in chicken pieces except on the RARE occasion when I roast a whole chicken.  I compromised and got boneless thighs in case I messed up the legs.

I love curry.  I love cilantro flavored food.  Did I mention that I love curry?  The recipe looked simple enough so I decided to give it a  try.

I’m not sure if end result could be properly called Trinidadian curry.  I only had Indian curry powder, but that was OK according to Ree.  But, I kind of left out an ingredient and I kind of skipped a process.  If none of these were important in distinguishing this as a Trinidadian curry versus some other kind of curry, then I guess my title is OK.

So, what did I leave out?  Tomatoes.  I had every intention of putting one in.  But I was cooking in a hurry (curry in a hurry, ha!) because I worked on the yard a little too long, Soso needed to shower, D needed a haircut and I plumb forgot the plum tomatoes!

What process did I skip?  The “marinate for a couple of hours” part… I  read the ingredients ahead of time for shopping purposes, but not the directions.  Oy!

But…

Not bad-looking, right?  And it tasted great (!) according to D. Soso did not get to taste it tonight, but I’m sure she’ll weigh-in tomorrow.  Yes, it probably would have tasted better with longer marination, but the strong flavors of the curry powder, the garlic and cilantro saved the day.  Plus, I discover the tomato omission in time to throw some tomato paste into sauce and it worked.

Go here for the original recipe from PW.  Below is my adaptation, unintentional mistakes and all.

Pseudo-Trinadadian Chicken Curry

Time: 2 hour prep, 30 mins cooking

Serving: 4 – 6

Ingredients:

  • 1 package of skinless chicken legs, 1 package of skinless/boneless thighs
  • 2 tsp salt
  • black pepper
  • 1 tsp Dijon mustard
  • 1 medium onion, halved
  • 1 whole tomato, quartered (I used three tbs tomato paste)
  • 8 cloves garlic
  • 8 springs cilantro, including stems
  • 2 tbs Indian chicken curry power
  • 2 tsp tumeric
  • 4 tbs canola oil
  • 1 small Jalapeno pepper, seeds removed and sliced (optional)

Directions:

  • Rinse the chicken pieces, pat dry with paper towel and place them in a large bowl.  Sprinkle liberally with salt and pepper.
  • In a food processor, pulse half the onion, cilantro, garlic, cilantro, Jalapeno pepper,  (tomato) until they are all coarsely chopped.
  • Add the mixture and mustard to the chicken and stir until the chicken pieces are well coated.  Original recipe calls for 2 hours in the fridge, but I had may be 20 minutes.
  • Make the curry slurry by adding the curry and tumeric powder with 3/4 cup of water in a bowl.  Stir until dissolved.
  • In a large skillet, heat the oil over medium-low heat.  Cook the curry slurry for a few minutes while stirring.  When the slurry has thickened, add the chopped onion and cook until the onions are softened.
  • Add the chicken and turn them until they are coated with the curry.  Cook half-covered for 5 minutes.  Turn the chicken again, add 1 cup of water and cook until done.  Turn the chicken a couple of times during cooking.  Cook for about 15 – 20 minutes.
  • Serve with rice (I made cardamom infused long grain rice) and some fresh chopped cilantro on top.
One thought on “Trinidadian Chicken Curry

Leave a Reply

