Cuban Style Black Beans

I didn’t think I was I going to cook anything new today.  I didn’t think I was cooking at all.   D was making lunch and we usually eat only one large meal on Sundays.  But I had some time and cooking today would mean a much easier dinner time tomorrow.

Not that a Black Beans recipe is new per se.  I have posted an Easy Black Beans recipe before from Simply Recipes.  This recipe, modified from an Epicurious recipe, is slightly different.  Still yummy!  I love black beans.  Soso loves black beans.  She can eat an adult sized portion of beans and rice.

And looky looky!

More pictures!

I like to sauté the onions first.  I like onions well-cooked.  No raw onions for me, blech.  But, I don’t like the other vegetables over-cooked in my endeavor to throughly kill cook the onion.

Adding the pepper, garlic, oregano.

 Printer Friendly

Cuban Style Black Beans

Prep Time: 10 mins     Cook Time: 20 mins

Serves: 4

Ingredients:

1/4 cup olive oil
1/2 large onion, chopped
1 large green pepper, chopped 1/2 inch pieces
4 large garlic cloves, minced
2 teaspoon dried oregano
2 16-ounce cans black beans, rinsed and drained
3/4 cup water
1 tablespoon cider vinegar

Directions:

Heat oil in a large non-stick pan over medium heat.  Add onion and sauté until they start to soften.  Add pepper, garlic and oregano and sauté until the pepper start to soften, about 5 minutes. 

Add 1 cup of beans and mash the beans coarsely.  I uses a potato masher.

Add the remaining beans, water, vinegar and simmer until the mixture thickens, stirring occasionally for 10 – 15 minutes.

Season with salt and pepper to taste needed and serve with white rice.

One thought on “Cuban Style Black Beans

Leave a Reply

