My first visit to the “stinky” place

I was mad Saturday.  The “why” doesn’t matter.  Running for 30 minutes wasn’t enough to blow off steam.  I decided to work on the yard.  So I worked from dawn… well 7 AM really until noon.

I have no idea what kind of flower plant this is, but I love it.  It reminds me of one of those photos… not sepia.  Antique?

Anyway, I don’t have a green thumb  and I’m not a toil in the soil kinda gal.  Slugs, bugs, and worms are just not my thing.  Neither is getting dirt under my fingernails in spite of the brandy new gloves I bought.  However, I do manage to plant a few flowers and herbs every year. 

I’ve given up on any vegetables due to all the virmins that live near by.  I think the woodchucks are the culprits, but who knows.  It isn’t as if I’ve ever caught one in the act…. ’cause then there would have been dead woodchucks.  Just kidding.  I wouldn’t resort to violence no matter what my inclinations are.  Except if I could get away with it… just kidding.  Perhaps undetectable poison.  No, really, I’m kidding!

Anyway, after 5 hours of hard work, I had a lot of garden detritus on my hands.  At least 4 cans worth.  D usually takes care of this part.  I got it all ready for him.  I even loaded the first two cans into the car.  Then he comes out, dressed and tell me that he wasn’t planning to go to the conservation center today.

Great.  Well, fine, I’ll take care of it.  Except that I’m a conservation center virgin.  Plus, have I mentioned that I don’t like icky things?  I always imagine that place being icky, dead plant matters rotting slowly.  Soso calls it the stinky place with a good reason.  Whenever I run by the place, it smells so badly that I have to hold my breath.  Not good when you’re running.  And you’re not that fast.

But I was determined to be “independent” woman, hear me roar (really a fierce meow since I was exhausted by then) and I went.

D once joked about how the place to meet men in our town would be at the center.  Apparently, it is all men.  Big brawny men in their big pickup trucks dumping smelly grass and leaves.  Yeah, attractive.

I did not meet any men.  There were men aplenty, big, small, young, old.  And a couple of women!  Ha!  Okay I was one of the two.  But the conservation center is like a public bathroom, you know?  And not a nice one.  You go because you have to.  You do your business and you get out as quickly as possible.

I made two trips and I was done!  Who needs a man?  Except that I’m a mowing virgin as well.  I guess I’ll have to give that a try next!

Isn’t it pretty?  I’m really hoping it lasts the summer.

Leave a Reply

