Just in time

*The irony of this post’s title, “Just in time” is that I wrote this on May 26th and I’m actually posting it on 6/3. It took me this long to take and upload a picture!

Soso’s second tooth has been getting looser and looser since last week.  Normally, I would let nature take its course and let the tooth come out by itself.  But with Field Day approaching, I was anxious for the tooth to come out.  I didn’t want it to get lost.  I didn’t want a bloody t-shirt to clean.  I don’t know why, but I kept envisioning a mess.  That’s the kind of person I am.  Over thinking, over worrying.

Anyway, I kept asking her the last few days if I could yank it out.  “It probably won’t hurt more than a shot.”  “No, Mommy!”

I guess I got her nervous, too.  I came home yesterday to a proud kid.  “Look, Mommy!  My tooth is out!  I did it all by myself!”  Apparently, she kept pushing at it with her tongue until it fell out.  Just in time since today was Field Day.

The Tooth-fairy left two dollars this time.  I guess the second tooth isn’t worth as much?

Oh, and as I was laying down with her for a few minutes, she told me to keep my eyes closed in case the Tooth-fairy comes and sees that we’re still awake.  I told her not to worry since the Fairy won’t come until she’s in a deep sleep.  “Oh, she has magic eyes like Santa?”  “Yes, honey.”  I just love that she still believes in magic eyes.

Leave a Reply

