Mediterranean Pepper Salad

IMG_5391
This is my favorite summer salad by far.  It is a combination of crunchy, salty, tangy goodness that goes with just about anything.  A grilled steak or chicken or salmon.  As a side to a juicy burger.   Or you can do what I do, eat a bowlful with a crusty, chewy bread.  I love it.  I’m so glad I discovered it last year.

Yes, last year.  I have no idea why I never posted it!  Last week, I had bought some sweet bell peppers.  I searched through my archives to look for the recipe and nothing.  I clearly remember taking a picture, but the recipe is not on my site.  Good thing that it originally comes from Smitten Kitchen!  Here is her recipe.

Here are my notes and changes.  I use significantly less salt.  It isn’t that I like my food bland.  The original calls for 1 tablespoon of Kosher Salt and I found that to be way, way too salty.  I really think it must have been a mistake or a typo.  I’ve experimented several times and I think the right amount is less than 1/2 tablespoon and more than 1 teaspoon.  I’ll just call it at 1 heaping teaspoon.

I have substitute the Kirby cucumber with an equivalent amount of regular or English.  They both work.  I’ve also used to regular black olives, although Kalamata olives are so much better.  I like using crumbled feta instead of cutting a block of feta into 1/2 inch pieces, but I’m not a huge feta fan.

IMG_5380

Print

Mediterranean Pepper Salad

Time: 15 – 20 mins, depending on knife skills

Serves: 6

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup red wine vinegar
  • 1/4 cup cold water
  • 1 heaping teaspoon Kosher Salt
  • 2 teaspoon sugar
  • 1/2 medium size red onion
  • 3 bell peppers in different colors (I use 1 red, 1 yellow and 1 orange)
  • 1 Kirby cucumber
  • 1/3 cup crumbled feta
  • 1/3 – 1/2 cup pitted Kalamata olives
  • 1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil
  • black pepper

Directions

  • In a small bowl, add the vinegar, water, salt and sugar and swirl until the salt and sugar have dissolved.
  • Dice the onion in 1/2 inch (I cut it a little smaller) pieces and add to the vinegar mixture.  Set aside to marinade.
  • Meanwhile, ut the top off peppers, remove the seeds and ribs and cut the peppers into 1/2 inch pieces.  Dice the cucumber into 1/2 inch pieces.  Roughly chop the olives.  Add them and the cheese also to a large mixing bowl.
  • Using a slotted spoon, add the marinated onion to the bowl.  Pour in about 1/4 – 1/2 cup of the reserved liquid to the mix.  Add plenty of freshly ground pepper and mix.
  • Serve immediately or let it sit in the refrigerator for a couple of hours to meld all the flavors together

IMG_5393

3 thoughts on “Mediterranean Pepper Salad

  1. I just made this last night for the second or third time – we love it!! This time I added some chickpeas and we both have it for lunch today. Thanks!!!

Leave a Reply

