Canon versus Nikon

I have wanted a DSLR for a long time; however, the money factor always got in the way.  There was always a more urgent need for the money.  House.  Car.  Shoes.

Then about a year ago, I realized that I needed a concrete plan or I was never going to get the camera.  Plunking down a thousand dollar or two is never easy unless it is for a house or a car.  (Notice I didn’t say shoes this time!)  I had finally reached the end of my patience with a point-and-shoot.  I wanted NEEDED a DSLR.

About 6 months ago, I had enough for a decent camera. Perhaps a nice lens, too if I was lucky.  I started doing serious research and that was my downfall.

I was leaning towards a Nikon, but I thought to do my due diligence and looked at other brands, namely Canon.  I had read so much about both cameras, pros and cons that I was soon on information overload.  In the end, I was confused.  There didn’t seem to be a right and wrong and that was the crux of the problem.

Nikon D5000

Both cameras would do take great pictures.  Both cameras had affordable options.  Both had great lenses available.  The only limit was myself and money.

So how do I choose?

I visited a camera store, hoping that I could “feel” myself into a decision.  Now, I’ve always had a preference for Nikon.  My first camera back in the film days was a Nikon. It had served me well over the years even though it was only a point-and-shoot.  So, I was really hoping even features and quality aside, I would like how the Nikon handled.  I would touch it and know.

It didn’t quite work out that way.  I actually liked the feel of the Canon more.

Canon T2i

So, I started researching the next level up, for serious amateurs.  I was hoping one brand would stand out.  It would have been worth paying a few hundreds of dollars more for an easier decision.

Nikon D90

No doubt about it, Nikon D90 is a great camera by all standards.  In my opinion, the Canon equivalent, 50D fell a little behind.  BUT,not enough to make a different to an amateur like me.

Canon 50D

Again, I would have paid more had the decision been more obvious.  But they are both still so close in features and quality.  Did I really want to pay more for features that would probably take me  a decade to figure out how to use?  Plus, these more “serious” cameras are significantly more heavy.

Well, now it is crunch time.  I’m a month away from THE vacation to Peru and I need to purchase my camera, ASAP.  I mean, it would be nice to practice a little before I try to take on Machu Picchu.  UGH.  What to do, what to do, what to do.

I feel slightly sick in the tummy whenever I try to make a decision.  It is a huge money commitment because of the lenses.  I can’t imagine I would be able to switch brands easily once I start getting a couple of nice lenses.  Or I could stick with the standard lens until I have a better feel.  Except that I would like a nicer lens for Peru.  Except the lens that I want is another few hundreds of dollars.

I keep telling myself that there really is no bad decision.  They are both good cameras.  And I’m not skilled enough yet to be able to tell any difference.  And that what ever limits the cameras have, I won’t hit them for a long, long time.

There is no bad decision.

There is no bad decision.

Just pick a camera for crying out loud!

Or you’ll wind up with a frustrating point-and-shoot on your once-in-a -ifetime trip to Peru.

I feel queasy just writing this post.  I hate feeling conflicted.  I’m such a wuss.  I’ve given myself two more weeks to choose.  Any opinions out there?

Leave a Reply

