Firecracker Run 2010

My posts are out-of-order this week.  Now that I’ve covered Tuesday night, let’s talk about Sunday, 4th July and how we spent the day.

We have a 4 mile race called the Firecracker Run that I’ve run 3 out of the last 4 years.  I’ve been training since May, building my endurance, increasing my time.  Last year, I finished a miserable 42.40 minutes.  I promised myself that I would do better and I “just” met that goal.  I blame the weather. But, first let’s talk about Soso.

S was so upset last year that she couldn’t run with me that I signed her up for the 1 mile fun run this year.  We had fun “training” a couple of time.  She was so cute!  I quickly realized that I wasn’t in enough shape to run the 1 mile with her and still do my best at my own race.  D became her unofficial running partner.

IMG_5525

It was a blazing hot and sunny day, high of 96 degrees.  At 9 AM, it was probably in the high 80’s, not ideal running condition.  But here they came to the finish line around 12 minutes.  I was so proud of her and D, too since he never ever exercises.  Unless you count mowing as exercise.

Now, back to my race results.  I was really hoping to come under 40 minutes.  Back in 2007, I ran it at 39.08.  I would have taken 39.99!  I had even run the route two weeks ago in 40 minutes and on race day you generally run faster.  Well, all week I had been seeing sunny and high of 96 degrees.  I knew that wasn’t good.

By 9:30, it was probably in the 90s.  I ran the best I could at 41.55.  I’m less upset because I know that I gave it my all.  I know that I couldn’t have run it any better.  I guess, for next year, I really need to train under hotter conditions.  I usually run at 6AM when it is much cooler.

The rest of the day, we stayed indoors with the air conditioner on full blast.   I napped a couple of times.  We had an early dinner of grilled chicken, PW’s Sun-dried Tomato Pasta Salad, corn and green salad.  Then we went to see the town fireworks.  S didn’t love it.  She said it hurt her eyes.  But she didn’t want to leave either… go figure.  Girl, next year, we’re just catching it on the TV!

Leave a Reply

