Going back on my word

I should have known I would.  You would think I would have learned by now, after 6 years of parenting, to never say never.  To never rely on how I was raised to be the guiding light to my own parenting style.  But apparently I haven’t learned.

When first saw a hair salon for kids, I thought people were crazy. A professional hair cut for a kid? I never got one until I was in college.  Soso’s FIRST haircut at the age of 1 was at one of these salons for kids and all other subsequent haircuts.

When my friends were buying cute sandals and sneakers and Crocs and Mary Janes and flip-flops and boots and etc for their two-year olds, I scoffed and said, “My kid needs only one pair of shoes at a time. She will only out-grow them in a couple of months anyway.” Soso has about 8 pairs that she’s rotating through this summer.

So, when my friends asked me when I was getting S her first mani and pedi, I, again, scoffed and said, “What?  Never.  She’s a kid.  I didn’t get my first mani and pedi until I was 26, the week that I got married.”

Oh, how the mighty has fallen.

IMG_5618

I want to blame my mother.  I was raised in a really strict household.  She had certain standards.  Nail polish on a kid was considered inappropriate and tacky.  She never gave me permission to wear polish.  Not at 6.  Not at 16.  Come to think of it, I still don’t have permission.  It’s just that I’m an adult now and think I can my own decisions.  Except, heaven forbid, if I choose a tacky color like blue or green or yellow or purple.  Or too loud a color like neon pink.  I would never hear the end of it.  I’m 36 years old and I still think of my mom when choosing my nail polish.  How sad is that?

Anyway, may be my inner deprived child-self is rebelling against my adult sensibilities that I adopted from my mother.

IMG_5616
Look, I even let her get a design.  But how cute do they look, especially on her still “Flintstone” looking feet!
IMG_5614

Have I mentioned that my Mom’s coming over this weekend?  Knowing her, she won’t bat an eye because, this is her perfect, wonderful, fantastic grand-daughter.  Amazing how much of softy she’s turned into… just yesterday, she was telling me that I was being too strict with S. Me.  Oh, the irony!

3 thoughts on “Going back on my word

    1. I’m going to do a funky color right before Peru and then a non-tacky color right after. I’m too scared of my Mom to risk any other time! :-p

Leave a Reply

