My first bucket list accomplishment

I know there are those of you who are brave.  Those of you who have scaled great heights.  Climbed up mountains.  Jumped off airplanes.  If you are one of those, you will never understand why this is a huge accomplishment for me.

I am the world’s biggest scaredy cat.  In fact, I’m probably doing cats of the world a huge injustice.  I’m probably more of a chicken than a cat.  More of a chicken than a chicken.

It is hard to believe, even for me, that at one point in my life, I had put down parachuting out of an airplane on a “to-do” list.  I was either high on something or I have changed greatly over the years.

Whatever I was or thought I was, today, July 26, 2010, I am a person with a lot of fears about height.  Plus, I’m have fears about being in water that’s deeper than 5 feet.

With that context in mind, now, can you understand the big, huge, humongous deal it was that I jumped off the diving board?  Into 12 feet deep water?

I’m only semi-embarrassed to disclose that it took two tries.  The first attempt was aborted after I had walked out to the edge, stared at the water and broke out into cold sweat.  Then I realized that it was one of those now or never, do or die moments.  I practiced by jumping off the edge of the pool into 6 feet of water.  I did it over and over again until I was almost desensitized.

The second attempt (cue fanfare) was a success!  I did it!  I conquered my fear for a few seconds.  Soso said she was proud of me.  D looked like he was about to roll his eyes, but didn’t.  I guess he’s learned some wisdom after 10 years of marriage!

Leave a Reply

