Peruvian Tooth Fairy

I don’t know what tooth fairy myth philosophy you perpetuate believe in your household. One fairy like one Santa Clause? Well, I never had to think about it until Soso decided to bite on a hard candy apple.  I had to think and think quickly when she started to cry.

What if the Tooth Fairy can’t find me in Peru! Of course she will find you.  In fact, I’m sure there’s a Tooth Fairy in charge of Peru.  You remember the movie (with Dwayne Johnson) had many tooth fairies?  In fact, you will probably get Peruvian money!  Instant distraction.  Soso thought Peruvian money to buy Peruvian souvenirs was exciting.

Now she couldn’t leave the tooth alone and it resulted in the one failed attempt while we were still in Lima.  When we got to Cusco, one of the first thing I did was to yank the tooth out. I just couldn’t take it anymore.

IMG_1052Holding up one of the three soles she received from the Peruvian Tooth Fairy.
IMG_1119

The tooth was a positive bargain. 3 soles isn’t even equal to a dollar.

Fast forward two weeks. We were back home and Soso was sick with fever. It was the 10th day and I took her to the ER finally. Guess where she lost her second upper tooth? Between the crazy long illness and school starting, the Tooth Fairy forgot to leave money for two days.

The first night I the tooth fairy forgot Soso cried, “The Tooth Fairy didn’t come!”.  I told her that sometimes fairies got very busy.  The second night the tooth fairy forgot was more difficult to explain.  “You know honey, they probably got confused because you had just lost a tooth in Peru.  I bet the Peruvian Fairy forgot to transfer you back to the American Fairy.  I’m positive you’ll get a visit tonight.  Except that I only had $5 in my wallet.  Oh well, I guess it evened out in the end!

One thought on “Peruvian Tooth Fairy

Leave a Reply

