Apple Pie Pockets

I went apple picking only once as a child. I was 9 or 10 years old.  I had so much fun and the memories stayed with me into adulthood.  We took Soso as soon as she was old enough, at the ripe age of two.  We picked mostly from a bin.

My Pictures

Clockwise from top left, 2006, 2007, 2009 and 2008. The center photo is from 2006 and one of all time favorite picture of Soso.

Each year, Soso has gotten more apt at plucking apples, even climbing up on a tree to get some this year.  The downside to such aptitude is that we got a whole lot of apples to eat this year.  A whole lot of late season apples that need to be consumed more quickly than usual.

So, an apple a day, a few pies and this weekend, two batches of apple pie pockets from a recipe I found on Pillsbury website.  I also have an apple crisp recipe on the agenda.

IMG_2136

The apple pie pockets recipe is the kind that I like, easy.  I followed the recipe in my first batch and I modified in my second.  I still have a few opinions I’m waiting on from friends and neighbors, but D and S have weighed in.  They like mine better. 🙂

IMG_2133

The original recipe called for diced apples mixed with sugar and cinnamon.  It came out a little dry and bland.  I tried to jazz it up by adding some light brown sugar and vanilla extract.

One box of Pillsbury (or any brand) pie crust will make 8 pockets. Divide each crust into four quarters and top each wedge with 1/3 cup apple mixture.

IMG_2132

Fold over filling and press the edges with a fork. You may want to moisten slightly with water. I had trouble getting the wedges to stick together.

IMG_2135

Bake in 400 for 15 – 20 minutes, until the crust is golden brown.

applepockets

Print

Apple Pie Pockets

Prep time: 10 mins     Cook time: 20 mins

Serves: 8

Ingredients

  • 1 box Pillsbury or other brand refrigerated pie crust
  • 2 1/2 cups small diced peeled apples (same variety for pies)
  • 1/3 cup white granulated sugar (less if the apples are really sweet)
  • 2 tablespoon light brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoon all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions

  • Pre-heat oven to 400°F.  Unroll pie crusts on work surface.  Cut each crust into quarters, making 8 wedges.
  • Mix diced apples, sugar, flour, cinnamon and vanilla extract.  Top half of each wedge with  1/4 cup apple mixture.  Fold over filling and press side edges together to seal.  Use a dab of water if needed.  Add a little more apple mixture to the top if needed.  Seal the top.  Crimp the edges if a fork.
  • Place on ungreased cookie sheet.  Cut several small vents on top.  Bake 15 – 20 minute on the middle rack, until the crust is golden brown.
  • Serve hot, warm, or room temperature with or without ice cream.  It can also be reheated in the microwave for 15 – 20 seconds.

IMG_2138

2 thoughts on “Apple Pie Pockets

  1. Yum!!! I reheated a bit in the toaster oven, to crisp up the crust a bit. And I have to agree – the originals were fine, but your tweaks definitely improved it!!!! You might want to try with some frozen puff pastry too. It can give a nice flaky crust. You can give them a brush of egg wash to make the crust nice and golden and a little shiny.

    Well done!

    1. Thanks! I think with puff pastry it would be called apple turnovers, right? Or is that a completely different kind of a recipe? I thought about it, but I’ve only used puff pastry to make an easy version of samosas and spinache spanakopitas so I wasn’t sure. Next time!

Leave a Reply

