Not-So-Giant Chocolate Chip Cookies

IMG_2434

I always thought the Toll House recipe was by far the best chocolate chip cookie recipe.  Then, about 1.5 years ago, I tasted a chocolate chip cookie that was even better. 

If you’re a Toll House fan like me, you’re probably skeptical.  I don’t blame you.  I loved Toll House and I love it still.  But, trust me.  These cookies are life-changing kind of cookies.

If you want to be safe and stay with what you know, don’t read any further.

Stop before it is too late.

No?  You want to change your life?  Well, here we go.

Baker Mom gave me this recipe after I begged and pleaded and promised never to share with another soul.  So, shhhhhhhh.

She calls it Giant Chocolate Chip Cookies because the recipe calls for the use of a 1/4 cup to measure the dough.  I use a large heaping tablespoon, hence the change in my title.  But I’m getting ahead of myself.

The cast of characters.

IMG_2373

Typical stuff except for the chocholate chips in the back. I suspect Ghirardelli 60% Cacao Bittersweet Chips are the key to this recipe.  Don’t use anything else.  You’ll regret it like I did when I used the Toll House semisweet chips.  Regret!

Beat the butter and sugar.  Just beat it, beat it, beat it.  No one wants to be defeated!  Just beat it, beat it, beat it.  Channel your inner Michael Jackson until the mixture is light and fluffy.  I tried to take step-by-step photos to uh… well to not so great results.

IMG_2382

Add one egg at a time and mix well.  Speaking of beating things, I must learn to kill the shadow.  Not that I didn’t have respect for food bloggers before, but man do I have respect for them now.  Cooking photography is hard!

IMG_2388

It doesn’t help that I have no idea what I’m doing with my camera.

IMG_2394

Add vanilla.

IMG_2398

Add flour mixture.

IMG_2399

I tried to do it myself and take photo. It wasn’t pretty my friends. Thank goodness Soso is  old enough to help.

IMG_2403

Stir in chocolate chips. No photo because Soso was bored and was like, “Can I go back to reading, Mom?”  By the way, is that a 1st grade thing?  I’m bored.  Can we do something fun?  Oh and I’m starving.  If she ain’t bored, she’s hungry.

Drop a large heaping tablespoon.  I like smaller cookies because then I “think” I can eat more than one.  But my conscious bothers me if I eat two giant cookies.  Yes, I know that two or three or four of the smaller ones would in effect be the same.  But that’s how I roll. 

By the way, I learned to use parchment paper from Baker Mom.  Love it!

IMG_2406Bake 10 – 12 minutes if you like it more chewy. Or if you’re like me and like crispy cookies, go another minute.

IMG_2405

THANK YOU BAKER MOM!

Not-So-Giant Chocolate Chip Cookies

Print

Time: 10 mins prep, 40 mins cooking

Serves: 30ish medium sized cookies or 16 giant cookies

Ingredients 

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 sticks unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 3/4 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 2 large eggs, room temperature
  • 2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1 12 oz bag Ghirardelli 60% Cacao Bittersweet Chips

Directions

  • Pre-heat oven to 375° F.  In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda and salt and set aside.
  • In a large bowl, beat butter and sugars until fluffy with electric mixer.  Add one egg at a time, mixing well after each addition.  Mix in vanilla.
  • Mix in flour until just incorporated.  Stir in chocolate chips.
  • Drop in 1 heaping tablespoon (almost 2 tablespoon worth) dough onto ungreased cookie sheet, 2.5 inches apart. (If you want to make giant size, use 1/4 cup measure and set 4 inches part, at least two inches from pan edges.)  Bake until golden, about 10 – 12 minutes, rotating sheets from top to bottom of the oven halfway through.
  • Cool 1 minute, then transfer rack to cool completely.  Cans be stored 2-4 days in airtight containers or can be frozen for several weeks.
8 thoughts on “Not-So-Giant Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Yum!!!

    My favorite part of the recipe is always “Can be stored 2-4 days in airtight containers” In what parrallel universe would these things last 4 days sitting on the counter??!!

    Nicely done 🙂

  2. You had me at the chocolate chips!

    Love the parchment paper tip. I’m not dissing (is that a word?) this recipe, but my mom makes the most amazing CCC from a very old (and worn) Betty Crocker cookbook recipe. They are divine.

  3. I can’t bake cookies (or anything) for the life of me, or at least I’ve hardly tried. But the thought of 16 giant chocolate chip cookies make me so hungry, I resolve to try your/Baker Mom’s recipe within this week haha 🙂 good and funny read, by the way 🙂

    1. Thanks! It is totally worth trying! I used to afraid of baking, too. Just make sure the butter is at room temperature! The first time I baked, I forgot and was wondering why the heck the butter and sugar wouldn’t mix! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

