Raking Leaves

IMG_2308

We have a pretty large yard by NJ standards, at least in the more densely populated towns.  We also have many old (meaning large with many branches) deciduous trees surrounding our property.  This translates to about a gazillion leaves on the ground come fall.

IMG_2307

D tried to rake the leaves into little piles the week before(really two weeks ago… yeah I’m a little behind in writing) to make the final job easier. Of course with a couple of windy days they scattered and more fell.

For the most part, we use the old fashioned method of raking. Or the current mod phrase, we “go green” and use the blower for only the really difficult areas such as the flower beds and other nooks and crannies.

We pile the leaves on tarp and drag them, all 190 yards (or is that feet? Go with whatever is more impressive) to the street.

IMG_2309

Sometimes, there is an added weight. Soso loves getting a ride on the tarp, but she’s getting a little too heavy for D. Or D’s getting a little too old.

fall10collage

I think age is definitely a factor. I actually like raking leaves, especially on a crisp sunny day. It is a nice way to get some exercise outdoors. It is fun to make a pile and watch Soso jump in. This year, I was pooped out after getting only half the backyard finished.

We had to put Soso to work. She helped pick up branches.

IMG_2314

She helped gathered pile of leaves together.

IMG_2317

Or, so I thought until I saw this.  Have I mentioned yet how much I love my camera?

IMG_2320

IMG_2321

IMG_2322

IMG_2323

IMG_2324

IMG_2326

And again.

IMG_2332

And again.

IMG_2316

And again. Ah youth.

IMG_2319

But, even the young eventually get tired.

IMG_2340

Or is that a mischievous smile on her face?

IMG_2346

I now know what ‘bone-tired’ feels like. I ached the next day and the next and the next. I think I still ache or maybe that’s related to the 2 days of Thanksgiving cooking. November has been a tiring month.

2 thoughts on “Raking Leaves

Leave a Reply

