Roasted Broccoli

I’ve grown up eating broccoli Korean style (my favorite) or stir-fried.  Sometimes, if I was in a hurry, I would steam them in the microwave and eat it plain.  I learned to eventually enjoy raw broccoli as an adult.  But roasted?  That just seemed weird.  Foreign.  Just plain strange.

Two weeks ago, I was desperately looking for another veggie dish for Thanksgiving.  I had been reading many positive reviews about roasted broccoli.  Curiosity finally got the best of me.  I tried out the simplest recipe and got two thumbs up.  Thank goodness for curiosity.  Not only was Thanksgiving saved from utter disaster from not having enough veggie dishes (not really), but now I have a whole new way to eat broccoli on a daily basis.

Roasted broccoli,  try it my friends.  You’ll never regret it.

IMG_2557

Unless you’re like my nephew who hates broccoli.

I really don’t want to eat this.
IMG_2580

Maybe if I smile at it, it will taste better.
IMG_2581

Or if I don’t look at it, I can pretend it’s cake.
IMG_2582

Ugh, I think I swallowed a fly.
IMG_2583

I guess I’m not going to die, but I still want my cake!
IMG_2584

I’m actually so proud of my nephew for trying the broccoli. He didn’t like it, but he got it down!

So, let me amend my statement. If you love broccoli, try it roasted. You won’t regret it!

Roasted Broccoli

Print

Time: 10 mins prep, 20 – 25 minutes cooking

Serves: 4 alone or 6 with other sides

Ingredients

2 bunch broccoli or broccoli crowns

4 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil

1 teaspoon sea salt or kosher salt or to taste

1/4 teaspoon freshly ground pepper to taste, optional

4 cloves garlic, thinly sliced, optional

1/4 cup grated parmesiano, optional

1/2 lemon, optional

Directions

Preheat oven to 425° F with a baking sheet in the oven.

Wash and thoroughly dry broccoli.  Cut into smaller, 2 – 2.5 inch pieces, leaving some flat sides to the stem.  In a large bowl, toss broccoli, olive oil, salt, pepper and garlic together until the broccoli is evenly coated.

Remove the baking sheet and quickly spread the broccoli pieces with the flat sides down.  Roast for 20 – 25 minutes, until you start seeing some browning.  Remove and serve as is or sprinkle some lemon juice and grated cheese.  I love it as is.

Tip: Use aluminum foil for easy clean up.

5 thoughts on “Roasted Broccoli

  1. I love the storyline of this post.. funny. As a kid I used to be like that with peas lol. But I’ve always loved broccoli and still do to this day. I never tried roasting them but I will give it a try..

  2. I love roasting vegetables – truly brings out the flavor. My kids love brocoli roasted now – yummy w/just a sprinkle of sea salt. For Thanksgiving, I roasted brussel sprouts using same technique and then mixed w/crispy Panchetta – big hit. Also try roasted asparagus topped w/freshly grated parmesan and lemon zest!! You’ll love it.

Leave a Reply

