Thanksgiving Wrap-up

Thanksgiving morning started off rather ominously. I thought the birds were attacking us.

IMG_2544

Or we were in a remake of The Birds.

IMG_2548

Here’s our respective reactions that clearly show our personality.

Soso in excited voice, “Look at the pretty birds!”

Me in worried voice, “How freaky! What is going on?” and privately thinking “OMG, the end is here!”

D in a blasé voice, “Bird migration.”

Me, “Oh.” and privately sighing a huge relief.

The birds were quickly forgotten in the excitement of getting ready for lunch.  I still had to bake pumpkin cake (instead of the pumpkin cheesecake), pop the bird in the oven, roast broccoli, cook green beans, prepare the salad, make the salad dressing, icing for the cake, gravy for the turkey and the mashed potatoes.

Thank goodness it was a late lunch at 2:30 and there were plenty of appetizers to appease the hungry family.  I still felt like I was sprinting towards the finish line. 

I just don’t know how to make the actual day of Thanksgiving easier.  I guess I could have mashed the potatoes ahead of time and reheated in the oven?  I definitely could have baked the cake the day before like I did with all the other desserts.

Anyway, it all turned out pretty great in spite of all my worries.

The spread.

IMG_2551

The turkey.

IMG_2549

Apple Sausage Stuffing.

IMG_2560

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

IMG_2562

Macaroni and Cheese

IMG_2559

Maple Whipped Sweet Potatoes

IMG_2556

Roasted Broccoli

IMG_2557

Garlicky Green Beans

IMG_2558

Salad

IMG_2550

Homemade and Canned Cranberry

IMG_2554IMG_2553

Gravy

IMG_2555

Plus, there were pumpkin cornbread and Papa G’s lasagna which you can see in this photo.

IMG_2564

This is Papa G. The lasagna was delicious!

IMG_2563

Soso giving thanks.

IMG_2569

Everyone ready to dig in!

IMG_2571

Happier times before the broccoli incident.

IMG_2574

Unusual photo of my Dad smiling and D. My Dad (and my Mom, too) take photos like it’s the 1800’s when people looked wooden from keeping still for so long.  I love this photo because I was able to catch him while he was laughing spontaneously.

IMG_2576

IMG_2577

After lunch, we celebrated my brother-in-law’s birthday with a pumpkin cake, not the cheesecake that I originally planned.  By the time I got to making the cake, it was crunch time and not the best time to experiment with an unfamiliar recipe and technique.

IMG_2586

He loved the cake! Despite my worries about the batter and my atrocious writing.

IMG_2589

We also had an apple pie with homemade whipped cream.

IMG_2540

The Not-So-Giant Chocolate Chip Cookies.

IMG_2434

There were also brownies and pumpkin pie tartlets. No one was hungry for dinner later on.

Thanks BIL and family for coming. We were very thankful to have you with us.

IMG_2624

Leave a Reply

