Apple Crisp

IMG_2764

I’ve wanted try my hand at making apple crisp since we went apple picking in October.  I got distracted with the apple pie pockets recipe and eventually ran out of apples. 

I bought some really nice looking apples over the weekend at H-Mart and I finally made some apple crisp last night.

I have a faint, but fond memory from college days of eating apple crisp hot out of the oven.  It seemed like one of my roommate could whip one out very little time.  Good thing because with the four of us, the apple crisp never made it to the next day. The topping was my favorite part.

After searching through Tasty Kitchen, I settled on Grandma Mary’s Apple Crisp.  There were positive reviews and it looked the easiest (you know that’s key for me!).

The recipe used a 9 x 9 baking dish.  Since I only had a 9 x 12 dish available, I used more apples, 2 Granny, 1 large Fuji and 1 large Stayman.

IMG_2754

I mixed the dry ingredients per the recipe.

IMG_2755

I tried the “smashing butter with the fork” method and found it a difficult task. It took forever. In the end, I used my hands to integrate the butter more.  I was worried the topping looked dry. But, what do I know, right? I’ve never made crumb toppings before.

IMG_2756

While I waited for the apples to bake, I read other crisp recipes.  Some called for cutting the butter before smashing.  Ah… that would have made it little easier!

This seems like a lot of topping, but I decided to trust in the recipe.

IMG_2758

After 40 minutes of baking, the house smelled heavenly. I patiently waited for the apple crisp to cool a little before I took a taste.  The topping added a nice texture to the soft, yummy baked apples, but it wasn’t what I remembered.

Never having made apple crisp before and not knowing a whole lot about baking in general, I don’t know if it was my technique or the recipe.

As I’m writing this, I’m getting another faint memory of the apple crisp by my college roommate. I’m pretty sure that she didn’t use oatmeal.  I’ll have to do more research. I All the recipes I looked at had oatmeal in the topping.

Anyway, if you have never made apple crisp, this is a very respectable recipe. It tastes really yummy. It just doesn’t have the topping that I remember. Who knows, perhaps my memory is faulty. It was a long time ago, after all.

IMG_2763

Apple Crisp

Print

Time: 20 mins prep, 40 mins cooking

Serving: 8

Ingredients

Filling

4 apples, mixed variety, peeled and sliced
1/2 lemon, juiced

Topping

3/4 cup flour
1/2 cup brown sugar
3/4 cup oatmeal
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/8 teaspoon salt
5 tablespoons unsalted butter, cubed

Directions

Pre-heat oven to 350° F.

Toss sliced apples with lemon juice and layer in a 9 x 12 baking dish.

In a medium bowl, combine dry ingredients.  Use a fork to smash the butter and integrate throughout the mixture.

Spread topping on top of the apples. Bake for 40 minutes or until top is browned and apples are tender.  Cool for 10 minutes before serving.

Leave a Reply

