Pumpkin Muffins with Cream Cheese Frosting

Our neighbor had a holiday party yesterday.  Normally, I have a stock of holiday cookies already in the freezer.  Defrost a batch, make some fresh ones or even some brownies and making a tray with an assortment of holiday goodies is easy.

I have one week before Christmas left, the last week not counting.  I don’t have a lot of tasks completed.

25% of shopping finished

50% house decorated

0 cards sent

0% holiday baking done

100% guarantee that my last week before Christmas will be crazy exhausting and stressful.

So, what do I do this weekend?

Friday night, we go out to dinner with friends and see a local theater show.

Saturday, I shop for a couple of hours and waste most of it looking at clothes for myself.

Sunday, I take Soso and a friend to see Tangled (cute), make lunch for them and finally, FINALLY do some baking.  At 2:30.  For the party.  Which is at 3ish. We get there at 4:15.  Why? 

I decide to bake pumpkin muffins.  Since I have left-over puree, I decide at 3PM to make pumpkin soup for us.

Then I use up more valuable time taking photos so I can write the recipe on the blog.

blog3

This typifies how my life has been for the past month.  Like it is run by a scatter brain.  Like the threads are unravelling.  I’m really hoping this week, I can rein in all the loose threads and get my life back in order.

I have no idea why I picked pumpkin muffins.  My brain is still stuck in Thanksgiving mode when I went on a pumpkin binge.  Oh heavens, I still have to try the pumpkin cheesecake and really, I don’t want to make pumpkin anything for a while.

But, if you’re in the mood for pumpkin goodies, please go ahead.  Enjoy.

IMG_2785

Pumpkin Muffins with Cream Cheese Frosting

Print

Prep Time:  15 mins         Cook  Time:  20 mins

Serving: 12 Rounded Muffins, 16 Flat Muffins

Ingredients

1.5 cup all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/8 teaspoon ground ginger
1/8 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1 1/4 cup pumpkin puree
1/3 cup Vegetable Oil
2 whole Large Eggs
1-1/4 cup granulated Sugar

Directions

Preheat oven to 350°F.  Place muffin liners inside the muffin pan.

In a small bowl, combine and briefly whisk all the dry ingredients except for the sugar.

In a large mixing bowl, combine, pumpkin puree, oil, eggs, and sugar (use 1 cup for less sweet muffins) and mix un medium speed until smooth.  Slowly add four mixture until combined.

Scoop batter into muffin cups (about 1/4 cup or until 3/4 full).  Bake until golden brown for about 20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into center of a muffin comes out lean.

Cool in the pan for a few minutes, then transfer muffins from the pan to the rack to cool completely.

Serve with frosting as a dessert or serve without for a healthier option.

*Cream Cheese Frosting – a really simple recipe that does not use butter.  Great with pumpkin cakes and carrot cakes.

Leave a Reply

