Looking to Donate This Holiday Season?

I usually participate in various holiday charity campaigns (gift giving trees, food banks, etc), but some how I missed the boat this year.  I felt bad that I haven’t given to anything yet this holiday season.

I’ve been contemplating between writing a check to a soup kitchen or to the local food bank.  Perhaps I should really do both.

Meanwhile, I ran across a post on Sweet Savory Life that was inspiring.  Alice supports an  organization called One Day’s Wages, whose purpose is to fight extreme global poverty by encouraging people to donate their one day’s wages.

One of the holiday campaign, One Less Gift‘s concept is to give one less “useless” gift and donate the money on behalf of someone.  Alice is providing an incentive to participate by doing a giveaway.  Go donate, leave a comment on her post and you’ll have a chance to win a $50 gift card to Target, Wal-Mart or Amazon.

I tend to focus on local charities, but I couldn’t resist the concept of One Less Gift.  Who doesn’t have a bunch of unused items sitting in their closets?  Plus, an added chance to win a gift card?  Love it!  If you donate $25, Alice will also match your donation.  Love it more!

Please go check it out.  If you are reading this post, chances are you are in relatively comfortable circumstances, in a somewhat modern facility with access to the internet.  You probably have access to clean, running water.

Even so, donating one day’s wages is probably a stretch for a lot of us.  Still, having been to Peru, I have a whole new appreciation for clean water.  $20 donation can provide clean water to one person for 20 years?  How cool is that.  Or for as little as $10, you’re providing a bed net to help prevent malaria.

Changes come one step at a time, however small a step.  Remember the ripple effect. Alice has inspired me.  I hope to inspire just one person. Perhaps you will inspire another.  If you do donate, I would love to hear about it!

Leave a Reply

