Mini Pretzel Turtles

IMG_2905

Mini Pretzel Turtles are just about the easiest, tasty treat you can make.  From start to finish, it took no more than 20 minutes. Plus, it is a fun, no fuss, no mess baking you can do with your kids.

The recipe calls for a bag of Rolo, a candy that I haven’t tasted in at least 10 years.

IMG_2869

D has never heard of Rolo. Yes, you may gasp. I did. What? That’s like saying you don’t know what M&M is! That you don’t know what Kit Kat is. Or Skittles. Or… or… I was speechless. He’s so weird, sometimes I don’t know how we get along.

These turtles would take less than 10 minutes to make if they weren’t wrapped individually.

IMG_2867

I think D’s trying to show me his fierce face because I was making fun of him. Or maybe because I wouldn’t let him taste one.

IMG_2865

No mess except for the foil leftover. I thought, if I were crafty, I could so something with these. Then Soso exclaimed there were bits of chocolate and caramel stuck on the foil. Excitedly. She was about to start licking them off because I wouldn’t let her taste a Rolo either. Patience my child!

IMG_2868

Not only is it a fun activity, it is an educational one.

Have you started learning multiplication yet? What’s multiplication, Momma?  It is a quick way to add.  There are 9 pretzels in each row and there are 7 rows.  9 X 7 = 63 pretzels!

IMG_2870

Huh? I’m just going to count by two’s.  Never mind.  How about, we have 63 pretzels, but we only need 57.  How many pretzels do you take away?  Before I could blink, 6 pretzels went straight into her belly.  Well, a few went into D’s.

IMG_2871

Here’s the final product. With all the math distractions, I forgot to take a photo of the pretzels with just the Rolos.

Edited to add, I made a second batch and remembered to take a photo.

IMG_2932

And I tried Peanut M&Ms and almonds for toppings this time.

IMG_2933

IMG_2876

Recipes for Mini Pretzel Turtles (also known as Rolo Pretzel Turtles) are posted on many websites, but I was inspired to make them when I saw it on Jane Deere.  While, I’m not a huge pecan fan, I can tell after one bite that the turtles are here to stay.  These are so good, I didn’t mind the pecans.

I do wish I had seen Recipe Rhapsody‘s version before I made mine.  Recipe Rhapsody uses other nuts as well as fun toppings like Peanut M&Ms. I have another bag of Rolos and plenty of leftover pretzels.  I’m going to make some with almonds, my favorite nut, and some with Peanut M&Ms for my second batch.

Mini Pretzel Turtles

 

Print

Prep time: 10 mins     Cook time: 4 mins

Serving:  57 turtles

Ingredients

1 bag Rolos, unwrapped (I counted 57 Rolos)
1 bag mini pretzels
1 bag pecan halves or other nuts of your choice

Directions

Preheat oven to 250°F.  Line a large baking tray with foil.  Place mini pretzels in single layer.  Top each pretzel with a Rolo and bake for 4 minutes.

Remove immediately and add a pecan or other topping on top of each Rolo and press down.  Cool for 20 minutes or throw it in the freezer for 10.

3 thoughts on “Mini Pretzel Turtles

  1. This is so easy. I need to make these! Thank you!

    And OMGoodness! D has never had them? They were my favorite candy as a child.

Leave a Reply

