Hot Chocolate with Marshmallow on a Stick

If you’re scratching your head and asking, “What’s hot chocolate on a stick?”, I’m about to tell you all about it.

I got the idea from Make and Takes.  The author, Jane,  confesses that it wasn’t her idea.  In fact the recipe is from King Arthur.  But she did an amazing job of turning the hot chocolate on a stick into an adorable holiday treat by topping it off with homemade marshmallows.  Then she went a step further with her packaging.  I fell in love with the picture at first sight.  Check it out.  So freaking cute!

Alas, mine’s not so cute.  I did my best, but I’m not very crafty or handy.  Still, in the end it is the taste that matters, right?  I think I’ll pass the taste test.

Even if it is too late to make them for Christmas, you can always make them for Valentine’s Day treat.  As I’ve already stated, the marshmallow is very easy to make.  The hot chocolate is also super easy.  The hardest part of this process was the cutting and packaging.  I don’t know how Jane got the squares all neat!

You start off with basically a bunch of chocolate, heavy cream and sweet condensed milk. I’m bolding sweet condensed because true to pattern, I misread it and got evaporated milk. Totally not the same thing! Now I have an opened can of evaporated milk in the fridge I don’t know what to do with.

IMG_2934

Combined both types of milk and steam over low heat. Remove from heat, add all the chocolates and let them melt for about 10 minutes.

IMG_2956

Put back on low heat to melt completely and whisk briskly until all the chocolate pieces melt.

IMG_2935

It should look shiny like this.

IMG_2936

Pour into an 8 x 8 pan lined with parchment paper or aluminum foil (I just made a second batch using aluminum foil and I like it better.  It was much easier to line and to smooth the top once the chocolate was poured inside.)

IMG_2937

Try to smooth out the edges and the top as much as possible. Otherwise, you get something like this.

IMG_2940

Remove from pan and place the block on a cutting board. That’s me, measuring with a ruler.

IMG_2941

Use a bread knife if you have one to cut into smaller squares. A good bread knife is sharp enough and long enough to cut through the entire block in one slice. The recipe says 1 inch squares.
IMG_2942

Top each square with a piece of marshmallow and insert a stick. Ta-da! Hot chocolate on a stick!

IMG_2947

Side view.

IMG_2948

Packaged.  Not as pretty as Jane’s but it works.  Soso was in a funny mood.  She kept inserting herself into the photos.

IMG_2949

I tried a close-up shot. You can still see her head in the blurred background.

IMG_2950

Even closer…. there!

IMG_2952

I put a few together and tied a prettier ribbon. The label has the directions: Swirl & melt the chocolate and marshmallow on the stick in 4 – 8 oz of hot milk. I tried it with 8 ounces of milk and I could barely taste the chocolate. Had I known, I would have modified to 4 – 6 ounces or I would have cut the squares a little larger.

IMG_2953

Hot Chocolate with Marshmallow on a Stick

Print

Prep Time:  5 mins          Cook Time:  10 mins          Inactive Prep Time:  12 hours

Ingredients

1/2 cup heavy cream
1 14 oz can sweet condensed milk
3 cups of semi-sweet or bitter-sweet chocolate chips (I used 1 cup 60% cacao bitter-sweet and 2 cups semi-sweet)
4 ounces unsweetened baking chocolate, broken into smaller pieces
few drops of flavoring (vanilla, hazelnut, etc), optional
marshmallows (about 3 dozen)
wooden sticks (about 3 dozen)

Directions

In a medium pot, combine sweet condensed milk and heavy cream.  Heat milk on low heat until steaming.  Remove from heat and add all the chocolate pieces.  Let it melt naturally for 10 minutes.

Put pot back on low heat and whisk until all the chocolate melts and the mixture is smooth and shiny.  Add a couple of drop of flavoring and whisk.

Pour into an 8 x 8 pan lined with parchment or aluminum foil.  Give the pan a few shaked and smooth out the top as much as possible.  Let it sit for 12 hours or overnight.

Using a sharp knife, cut into 1 inch or slightly larger squares.  Top with a piece of marshmallow and insert a stick in the middle.  Wrap individually in cellophane bags or in square cellophane sheets.  Enjoy!

14 thoughts on “Hot Chocolate with Marshmallow on a Stick

  1. yours are totally cute – you did a great job! 🙂 and I love the idea of doing them for valentine’s day, another excuse to whip them up! glad you had success with the recipe {me breathing a sign of relief!}

    merry christmas!

    1. Aw… thanks! I’ve never made homemade marshmallows or chocolate blocks. Not something I would ever do, but yours was so cute I had to try it. So, thank you for your inspiration! Not only did you give me a cool treat idea, but you’ve challenged me to do something new.

  2. I love this idea! Soo creative and looks absolutely delicious :] I tried making marshmallows once..did not work out for me. But you make me want to try again, these look so fluffy and yummy. :]

  3. What an adorable idea. I want to add some graham crackers on the side for a smore spin. So cute. Your’s look really cute, too.

    You should make pumpkin pie with your can of evaporated milk! Definitely one of my favorite uses!

Leave a Reply

