Recipe Redux: Chicken Piccata/Lemon Chicken

 I like to buy my chicken on sale and throw them in the freezer.  Unfortunately, I’m running out of space and I needed to use up some of my frozen meats.

I decided to revisit the Chicken Piccata I had made using The Pioneer Woman‘s recipe because a) everyone loved it the first time I made it and b) I never took photos to post with my own writeup.   A photo is important now that I’m trying to make a “book” of all my keeper recipes.

I made this on Monday.  It is a relatively a quick recipe, but apparently not to D.  At about 6PM, he posed a ‘what-if’ question.  What if I told you that I want to be charge of dinner for a week?

After I snorted good and loud (excuse me!), I said, go ahead.

Then curiosity got the better of me and I asked what brought this on.

I like to eat dinner before 6:30.

Um, whateva.  Go right ahead and be my guest.  With the understanding and it will all be bloggable, the good, the bad and the ugly.

Oh, I get understand.

So, stay tuned for next week.  D will be planning the menu, making the grocery list, shopping and cooking for the week.  I usually cook 4 -5 meals and use left-overs to fill the rest of the week.  D knows that I’ll be expecting some good meals.

But, back to the recipe. 

I had changed PW’s title to Lemon Chicken because this is not a typical piccata recipe.  It does not contain capers and it has cream.  I’ve renamed it yet again because Lemon Chicken, to me anyway, conveyed a sautéed chicken versus a “fried” chicken.  Feel free to chime in!  Plus, I plan on having a typical Chicken Piccata recipe posted one day and I want to avoid any confusion.

Start off by sprinkling both sides of chicken with salt and pepper and dredge in flour. Meanwhile, place equal parts butter and olive oil in a large pan on medium heat. I put 2 tablespoons each and added more as I needed with a second batch of chicken. I winded up using only 3 tablespoons each this time around.

IMG_3295

I fried both sides until they were “golden”. I can never get it to be quite golden, at least not like Ree’s photo. But no worries, it still tastes good.

IMG_3301

The second batch of chicken looked more golden.

IMG_3305

This is the sauce right before serving. Please excuse the lighting. Between night-time and cream-colored sauce, it was really hard to capture an appetizing photo. A lot of people commented on PW’s site that the sauce didn’t get very thick. Mine never does either.

Serve with some pasta. The sauce is very lemony so a little goes a long way.

Day 6 - Chicken with Lemon Sauce

Chicken with Creamy Lemon Sauce

Print

Prep Time:  15 mins     Cook Time:  30 mins

Serves: 6

Ingredients

6 pieces of chicken scaloppine (or chicken breast pounded thin)
salt and pepper
1/3 cup flour
4 tablespoons butter
4 tablespoons olive oil
2 lemons, juiced
3/4 cup chicken stock
1/2 cup dry white wine
1/2 cup of heavy cream
1 pound cooked Linguine Fini (or any long noodle), al dente
handful of chopped parsley divided in half

Directions

Cut the lemons in halves, remove the seeds (or you can juice over a strainer),  juice them and set aside.  Pour the flour into a shallow dish.  Season the scaloppine with salt and pepper and dredge both sides with flour. 

Add the 2 tablespoon of oil and 2 tablespoon of butter to a large skillet on medium heat.  When the oil starts bubbling slightly, add the chicken.  Add as many pieces as the pan can fit without crowding.  Let the chicken fry until both sides are golden brown, about 3 minutes on each side.  When done, drain on paper towel, cover and set aside.  Add more oil/butter as needed for frying the remaining chicken pieces.

Lower the heat medium-low and add the broth, wine and lemon juice.  Let it boil until reduced about half.  Reduce the heat to low, add the cream and whisk slowly for a few minutes.  Add salt and pepper if needed.  When the sauce has thickened a bit,  sprinkle half the chopped parsley.

Place a small or medium mound of pasta on a plate, a piece of chicken and spoon the sauce on both.  It is really lemony and a little does go a long way.  Sprinkle more fresh chopped parsley for garnish.  Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Recipe Redux: Chicken Piccata/Lemon Chicken

  1. I’m going to make this soon. I need an archive of sauces to add to chicken cooked this way. You can make Chicken Marsala with chicken cooked like this and just change the sauce (add mushrooms, etc).

  2. Made this last night. It’s sooooooo very good. I wish I would have made pasta with it though. I needed something besides bread to soak up the lemony goodness of that sauce. My mom and dad loved it too. This one is a family keeper. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

