Meal #2 – Chili Rubbed Salmon with Pasta and Broccoli Rabe

4 PM, D calls to tell me that he would like to sit down to dinner at 5:30 PM and to ask if I would be able to make it home in time.

5:15 PM, Soso and I walk in.

5:30 PM, D looks a little frazzled and I ask him if he needs help.  He says no.

5:35 PM, I ask if he’s sure.  This time he says yes to help.  I sauté some garlic in olive oil for the pasta while D focuses on making the salmon.

5:45 PM, D realizes that the salmon is supposed to be skinned.  The salmon is already frying in the pan.  Oops.

5:50 PM, I finish up putting the broccoli rabe and the pasta together.

6:00 PM, D starts cutting up the salmon filet in order to cook it faster.

6:15 PM, we sit down to eat.

This is one our favorite meal, pasta aglio e olio and broccoli rabe sautéed also with olive oil and minced garlic.

IMG_3720

D blanched the rabe perfectly. Just the right amount of tenderness. I love broccoli rabe.

IMG_3729

It was hard to take an attractive picture of the hacked up salmon. Oh wait. Here is one.

IMG_3717

Well, a cute picture of Soso, eating a piece of salmon.

The salmon was really tasty considering how simple the preparation was.  Another FoodNetwork Kitchens recipe, you just rub some chili powder and Kosher salt and fry the fish.  I just wish I could have had a better photo of the cooked fish to show here.  D’s done real good so far and I’m proud of him.

4 thoughts on “Meal #2 – Chili Rubbed Salmon with Pasta and Broccoli Rabe

Leave a Reply

