Happy Belated Lunar (Chinese) New Year!

Happy belated Chinese New Year, the year of the rabbit!

I would have posted this last night, but guess what?

Computer virus.

We don’t really celebrate Chinese New Year like I used to as a child. However, Soso brought home a cute little paper lantern and some fortune cookies from her after-school care. I thought it would fun to make something a little more special to celebrate.

Day 30 - Paper Lantern
Day 30 - Paper Lantern

Baker Mom gave me the idea to some easy noodles. So, instead of eating left-overs as planned, we had “longevity” noodles with “happy” shrimp. I adapted the recipe from Steamy Kitchen’s, Long Life Fertility Noodles with Happy Shrimp

IMG_4487

The recipe calls for snow peas, but I had to substitute with zucchini.  It was the only green vegetable I had on hand.  I didn’t have Chinese Rice Wine either so I just threw in some Pinot Grigio.  I can’t imagine a couple of teaspoons would alter the taste too much.

IMG_4492

I had to stop myself from tasting a shrimp as I had only 18 small shrimps. If I had planned ahead of time, I would have used a pound of shrimp.  Since I was referencing the recipe on the iPad while cooking and I miscalculated some of the quantities.

The recipe calls for 6 ounces of noodles. I used about 12 ounces, or 3/4 of the box.

I had too little shrimp or too much noodles, take your pick! I also had to up the soy sauce to accommodate for more noodles.

IMG_4498

It turned out alright in the end. D and S enjoyed dish and Soso and I are eating left-over noodles for lunch today.

Wishing everyone a long life filled with much happiness!

2 thoughts on “Happy Belated Lunar (Chinese) New Year!

  1. Been meaning to tell you that we enjoyed it too!! I kind of winged it a bit myself – I used dry sherry instead of the rice wine. I doubt its very authentic! But like you said, its only a small bit. I think I was closer to the recipe’s shrimp/noodle ratio – but to me it always feels like too little shrimp!!!
    Nice photo of the lantern!! I didn’t even think to light it up like that – maybe over the weekend.

    1. I always want more shrimp… it’s probably my favorite protein. I’m pretty sure that dry sherry’s a better subsitute than what I used… but you know I can never find Chinese Rice Wine anywhere.

Leave a Reply

