What’s For Dinner, #2

I really need to start posting this on Sunday since that’s when my weekly menu begins.

My excuse? I passed out myself while putting Soso to sleep at 8:30.  By the time I woke up at 9:30, I was all bleary eyed and fuzzy brained.  I had missed the entire 3rd quarter of the Super Bowl so I tried to finish watching the rest, but proceeded to drowse on and off the rest of the game.  Next thing I knew, D was telling me that the game was over, the Packer’s had won and it was time for bed!

Maybe all the “football” food had a soporific effect.  I had kind of gorged on some wings and a bunch of celery and carrot sticks.

Probably not the healthiest dinner.  Well, in the next coming weeks, I’m going to make some changes to our diet.  Hopefully, it will mean some interesting new recipes.  What’s bringing on the change? For one thing, Lent is soon upon us.  We usually give up meat (except last year).  While D will continue to eat deli meat for lunch, dinner will consist of non-meat proteins and a little bit of seafood.

Secondly, D borrowed The 150 Healthiest Foods on Earth by Jonny Bowden from the library over the weekend.  Some items were obvious (blueberries, turmeric, dark chocolate versus milk), but some items were a surprise to us. 

For example, according to Jonny Bowden, only wild caught salmon have the omega-3 fatty acids that are so good for us.  The more prevalent Atlantic farm raised salmon do not.  I’m thinking other wild caught fish must be healthier, too. That’s why instead of the usual tilapia or salmon, I have wild caught pollock on my menu this week.  Plus, it was on sale at Shop-rite!

The book lists other foods with tremendous health benefits that I was not aware of like dandelion leaves.  I vaguely remember my mom cooking some but that was a long time ago.  The variety of green vegetables we eat is pretty limited.  Broccoli, broccoli rabe, bok choy, asparagus, peppers, spinach, lettuce, and zucchini.  It can get boring cooking and eating the same thing every week. 

I’m going to incorporate some of the “healthiest” vegetables that are not currently part of our diet.  So look for a dandelion recipe in the future.  And beets!  And collard green!  I’ll also include some tidbits about the nutritional benefits to the various food items that I use.

As for this week’s menu, it is a little heavy on meat.  I have to empty out my freezer!  Plus, last night was Super Bowl.  I had to have wings and D and S had to have Pigs in Blankets. 

OK, here’s my first nutritional tidbit.  Did you know that celery is considered one the healthiest vegetable?  I thought it was only good for fiber, but it has a ton of Vitamin C.  It is supposed to help lower cholesterol and blood pressure and have some kind of anti-cancerous benefit, too.  Even if you take some the health benefits with a grain of salt, celery is definitely more than just a source of fiber.

I only buy celery when a recipe calls for it, i.e soups.  The remaining celery languishes in the back of my vegetable drawer until I throw it away.  I don’t think about eating it raw unless it is football season.  Don’t ask me why.  I’m going to make a pledge that going forward, no celery will be wasted.  I will make sure to eat it all, added to a stir-fry, to a salad or just eaten raw as a snack.

This week’s menu:

S – Football food (piggies in blankets, wings, crudite,  chips/salsa, wings, etc)

M – Fish (Wild Caught Pollack) still need to find a recipe, roasted asparagus

T – Turkey Sausage and peppers with pasta, salad

W – Leftovers

T – Turkey Meatloaf w/roasted garlic mashed potatoes, roasted broccoli

F – Leftovers

S – Either Asian chicken-wrap or dine out

4 thoughts on “What’s For Dinner, #2

  1. Sounds like a great menu! My mother who lives next door still makes dandelion leaves: lightly blanched, access liquid squeezed and seasoned with sesame oil, salt, & pepper! 🙂

    And wild caught fish is the way to go!

    1. Wow… now is that a Korean thing or did she just learn to do that once she saw dandelions in the markets here? I know we used to eat all kinds of greens in Korea that I can’t find here, but I don’t ever remember dandelion.

  2. Does your little one eat what’s on the menu? I can’t wait for my little guy to eat healthy.
    Found this site – vegetarian times, and they have pretty cool ways to make the vegetables. My favorites so far are butternut squash and mushroom casserole and cauliflower with tahini and lemon.

    1. Yes, she does. There was a moment when I thought I had a picky eater on my hand then all of sudden she turned a corner and never looked back. She eats practically everything. I’ve recently done a lot of roasting, i.e. roasted asparagus, roasted broccoli, roasted cauliflower… it’s been great. Easy, fast and healthy with just a little bit of olive oil and salt.

Leave a Reply

