Asian Chicken Lettuce Wrap

I had a friend coming over on Saturday and I thought it would be nice to make lunch. Then, things got hectic during the week and I seriously contemplated making microwave mac and cheese. She retorted with, “What’s next, SPAM?”

She shamed into stepping up and I made the Asian Chicken Lettuce Wrap. Plus, it had been on my dinner menu for two weeks. It was time.

It was easy to make, but honestly, the whole lettuce wrap thing was lost on me. Don’t get me wrong, I love lettuce wrap, Korean style. With some bulgoi, rice and a dab of spicy miso paste, it is divine. This chicken? I would have much preferred eating with just plain rice, the lettuce served as a salad with perhaps a spicy Korean dressing.

The verdict from the rest of the crew? D was with me. S and my friend, hereupon known as Flea loved it.

So, per my friend’s request, here’s the recipe.

IMG_4712

I was inspired to try this recipe from a post on This Week For Dinner, but I used the recipe from About.

This recipe has red bell pepper and celery, the other recipe has mushrooms.  I may try the recipe from This Week for Dinner because the sauce is slightly different.  Perhaps the combination of soy sauce, hoisin and Asian chili pepper sauce will make a difference.

Or, I could try the chicken with bulgogi marinade?  Well, I’ve got a month before Lent hits to experiment.

I did like using Bibb lettuce. The leaves, naturally shaped like a cup, was easy to use as a wrap.  In fact, I’m switching to Bibb instead of the traditional red leaf lettuce for bulgogi in the future.

39.365

Asian Chicken Lettuce Wrap

Print

Prep Time: 15 mins      Cook Time: 15 mins

Serves: 4

Ingredients

1 head Boston Bibb, rinsed and dried
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 slice ginger, minced
1 garlic clove, finely minced
1 lb chicken breasts, diced
1 red pepper, seeded and diced
1 stalk celery, diced
1 can water chestnuts, rinsed in warm running water and chopped
1 teaspoon cornstarch mixed with 2 tablespoons water
2 stalks scallions (green onions), chopped
1/2 teaspoon sesame oil

Sauce (mix together and set aside)
1 tablespoon soy sauce
2 tablespoons oyster sauce
1 tablespoon dry sherry
1 teaspoon sugar

Directions

In a wok or a large skillet, heat the olive oil on high heat. Quickly saute garlic and ginger until fragrant. Add chicken and cook until the chicken is brown. Remove chicken from pan and set aside.

Add the red peppers, celery and water chestnuts and fry saute until the celery starts to get tender. Add the sauce mixture and stir. Give the cornstarch/water mixture a quick stir and add to the pan to thicken up the sauce. Add the chicken back and cook until the chicken is thoroughly heated. At the end, add the scallions and sesame oil. Give it stir to just wilt the scallion.

Pour the chicken mixture into a serving bowl and serve with the lettuce. Have everyone spoon chicken mixture into the lettuce cup and eat it “taco” style. We ate it with a spoonful of rice and a spoonful of chicken in the lettuce wrap.

One thought on “Asian Chicken Lettuce Wrap

Leave a Reply

