A Little Discouraged About My 365 Project

I’m around day 45 or 46 into my 365 project.  Apparently Day 50 is a milestone.  I’ve been taking really sucky yucky pictures the last couple of days. 

It is kind of discouraging. 

I wasn’t expecting to be all of sudden a fabulous photographer.  I had hoped it would be  easier to find good subjects.  Or I would take better photos of ordinary objects.  There’s a photographer on the 365 website who turns ordinary mundane things into art.  It makes me want to cry.

I don’t know if I have it in me to finish this project.  I don’t need one more thing in my life that makes me feel mediocre.

Sorry for the self-pity post.  I try to keep this place mostly upbeat.  But you know, I’m also about keeping things real.

I’ll be alright in a moment and with some coffee perhaps.  I’m sure I’ll find it me to trudge on in a moment.  Or two. Or three.

5 thoughts on “A Little Discouraged About My 365 Project

  1. This project should not be about comparing yourself to someone else. Instead of focusing on turning something ordinary into art, try taking pictures of something meaningful to you so that in three to five years from now, you can look back on the pictures and enjoy them for the memories.

    1. Yeah yeah… I know in my heart but sometimes you know the brain where my perfectionist, obsessive type-A personality resides takes over…:) But that’s why I vent b/c I know someone will help straighten me out!

  2. Don’t be too tough on yourself. You can do it. Don’t think too much about it as a project, and you’ll see that it will come out naturally.
    Every time I officially make something as a project, I hit a dead end. Excitement and talent are still there – just let it flow.
    Don’t ever compare yourself to someone else, just be you. You see things differently and that’s what makes your pictures shine.
    I know you can do it! Just do it!

Leave a Reply

