Bok Choy Stir-fry with Garlic and Ginger

IMG_5066

My family loves baby bok choy, but we rarely get to eat them.  Finding fresh baby bok choy is hard unless you go to an Asian store.  Again, another reason why I’m so grateful and happy that an H-Mart opened close by.  Can I sing their praises any more?

The key to any stir-fry is a hot wok and constant stirring until the food is cooked.  Seriously, no multi-tasking.  No taking your eyes off.  A few seconds of no movement and things start to burn!  So, make sure that all your ingredients are near the stove, ready to be added quickly.

This recipe is my standard stir-fry recipe for any greens .  Bok choy cousins, swiss chard, cabbage, whatever floats my boat or is on sale for the week.

I have some variations.  Sometimes, I skip ginger.  Well, until I learned to freeze ginger in small pieces, I never had any ready at hand.  And yes, you can freeze ginger!  If you already knew that great, but if you don’t  and throw away dried up/moldy ginger like I used to, never again.  Just slice them into small pieces and throw them into the freezer.

OK, back to variations… I add sliced green onion, sliced regular onions, sesame oil, sesame seeds depending on my mood and what’s available.  The bag of bok choy I bought was huge so I divided them in half.  On Sunday, I added scallions but no sesame oil and seeds.  Yesterday, I cooked the rest, skipped scallion, but added sesame oil and seeds.  No rhyme or reason, just because.

Print

Bok Choy Stir-fry with Garlic and Ginger

Prep Time:  15 mins     Cook Time:  15 mins

Serves: 2 – 3 in my family

Ingredients

1/2 pound  baby bok choy
1 – 1.5 tablespoon olive oil or any fragrant oil, peanut, sunflower
3 -4 cloves garlic, minced
1 inch piece ginger, minced or grated
salt and pepper to taste
1 tablespoon soy sauce
1 stalk scallion, sliced, optional
sesame oil and sesame seeds, optional

Directions

Wash bok choy really well to remove all dirt and grit.  This may take several rinsing.  Shake off all excess water.  The large salad spinners work well for this purpose.  Trim bok choy by cutting off the larger leaves.  When you reach the ‘heart’ of the bok choy with tiny leaves, you can leave as is or cut them in half.

In a large wok on high heat, immediately add cooking oil, garlic and ginger.  Saute until the garlic starts sizzling.  Add bok choy and quickly stir/toss/saute constantly until the white part starts becoming tender.  For my, this is about a 10 minutes process.

Add a little salt and pepper to taste while constantly stirring.  Add soy sauce and stir some more and turn off heat and serve right away.  Optionally, add scallion, sesame oil and seeds before serving.

One thought on “Bok Choy Stir-fry with Garlic and Ginger

  1. Thanks for the tip about the ginger. I too have tossed out many large pieces of unused ginger over the years. I recently attempted to freeze it, but silly me – I froze it whole!! That defeats the purpose sicne slicing thru frozen ginger is equivalent to slicing thru a rock! How genius – cut it first…

Leave a Reply

